Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 85
  1. #1
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    107

    Shopping list for mm2 slash 4x4

    I have recently purchased a mamba monster 2 for my slash 4x4. I was wondering what I need besides...
    Stampede 4x4 receiver box
    E-revo esc mount
    Mip x-duty driveshafts
    King headz motor mount and 10x19x5 bearing
    King headz slash 4x4 bearing adapter

    What else do I need? Thanks for helping out.
    Hi-Tech Racing Engines
    Millenium Racing Chassis

  2. #2
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    468
    what motor are you planning on running ? you'll need bullet adapters if you're going to run stock.

  3. #3
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Lehi, Utah
    Posts
    1,616
    A motor might be helpful. LOL.

    That list seems great. What about a battery?
    Slash 4x4 built w/ RC4WD PRL RPM STRC TRX and MIP

  4. #4
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    165
    Just order my 2400kv and mm2 too can wait. Upgrade drive shaft too.
    Last edited by raved007; 12-26-2013 at 04:51 PM.

  5. #5
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    107
    I am running a mamba monster 2 motor and esc and probably a 4s,5s or 6s
    Does anybody know the pros and cons of Velcro battery hold downs? I'm running MIP x-duty CVD driveshafts Thanks
    Last edited by impulse43; 12-26-2013 at 07:09 PM.
    Hi-Tech Racing Engines
    Millenium Racing Chassis

  6. #6
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    friendswood texas
    Posts
    1,506
    Tekno center drive shaft the Big Bone.

  7. #7
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Lehi, Utah
    Posts
    1,616
    ^^+1

    Velcro works great to hold the batteries.
    Slash 4x4 built w/ RC4WD PRL RPM STRC TRX and MIP

  8. #8
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    107
    Quote Originally Posted by Bash'n'slash View Post
    ^^+1

    Velcro works great to hold the batteries.
    What company makes the best velcro and do I need to upgrade front diff?
    Last edited by impulse43; 12-26-2013 at 08:24 PM.
    Hi-Tech Racing Engines
    Millenium Racing Chassis

  9. #9
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    friendswood texas
    Posts
    1,506
    Quote Originally Posted by impulse43 View Post
    What company makes the best velcro and do I need to upgrade front diff?
    No I bash stock diffs Castle mmp sct 3S. I tried FLM aluminum diff cups BIG WASTE OF MONEY. The stock hold up WAY better. Plus if you HAVE trouble its a drop in the bucket to fix.

  10. #10
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    107
    Quote Originally Posted by pro mod steve View Post
    No I bash stock diffs Castle mmp sct 3S. I tried FLM aluminum diff cups BIG WASTE OF MONEY. The stock hold up WAY better. Plus if you HAVE trouble its a drop in the bucket to fix.
    Thanks I sure don't want to waste money with this project. What about the Velcro?
    Hi-Tech Racing Engines
    Millenium Racing Chassis

  11. #11
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Lehi, Utah
    Posts
    1,616
    Just but some Velcro from the store. The kinda that's sticky on one side. Stick the two sticky sides together. Then drill holes in the chassis and your good to go.
    Slash 4x4 built w/ RC4WD PRL RPM STRC TRX and MIP

  12. #12
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    friendswood texas
    Posts
    1,506
    Quote Originally Posted by impulse43 View Post
    Thanks I sure don't want to waste money with this project. What about the Velcro?
    Sorry I don't use Velcro I use the expanded Traxxas battery mount kit.

  13. #13
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    398
    The MM2 comes with adapters
    Slash 4x4 MMP/2800kv

    Slash 4x4 LGC MM2/2650kv

  14. #14
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    107
    I use the extended battery mount too but my 2s and 3s won't fit in it

    I want to use Velcro but I don't want to drill
    Last edited by cooleocool; 12-30-2013 at 07:10 PM. Reason: merge
    Hi-Tech Racing Engines
    Millenium Racing Chassis

  15. #15
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    friendswood texas
    Posts
    1,506
    Quote Originally Posted by impulse43 View Post
    I use the extended battery mount too but my 2s and 3s won't fit in it
    WOW how big are your batteries?

  16. #16
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Lehi, Utah
    Posts
    1,616
    I don't know of a way to do Velcro without drilling into the chassis.
    Slash 4x4 built w/ RC4WD PRL RPM STRC TRX and MIP

  17. #17
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    107
    Quote Originally Posted by pro mod steve View Post
    WOW how big are your batteries?
    My 3s is 5300 mah battery is about 2.5" tall and my 2s is about 1" tall

    Quote Originally Posted by Bash'n'slash View Post
    I don't know of a way to do Velcro without drilling into the chassis.
    Oh I thought I saw A kit that you didn't have to
    Last edited by cooleocool; 12-30-2013 at 07:10 PM. Reason: merge
    Hi-Tech Racing Engines
    Millenium Racing Chassis

  18. #18
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Lehi, Utah
    Posts
    1,616
    Well if you find one that would be awesome. But I don't know of any. But it was pretty easy to drill the holes.
    Slash 4x4 built w/ RC4WD PRL RPM STRC TRX and MIP

  19. #19
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    107
    I know it's easy but I just didn't want to drill. I will if I have to

    Quote Originally Posted by pro mod steve View Post
    Tekno center drive shaft the Big Bone.
    Do I need out drives too or just the driveshaft?
    Last edited by cooleocool; 12-30-2013 at 07:09 PM. Reason: merge
    Hi-Tech Racing Engines
    Millenium Racing Chassis

  20. #20
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    785
    This one adheres to the bottom of your battery tray. Three sizes available.

    http://puretechproducts.com/staging/ptprod_dpsalg.htm
    Slash 2wd
    Slash 4x4 MT
    P4de Trail

  21. #21
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Lehi, Utah
    Posts
    1,616
    Honestly I wouldn't bother with the big bone. There's not a thing wrong with the stock driveshaft.
    Slash 4x4 built w/ RC4WD PRL RPM STRC TRX and MIP

  22. #22
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    107
    I knew I'd seen one that you didn't have to drill
    Hi-Tech Racing Engines
    Millenium Racing Chassis

  23. #23
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    5,481
    Quote Originally Posted by impulse43 View Post
    My 3s is 5300 mah battery is about 2.5" tall and my 2s is about 1" tall
    Their should be no issue with the extended holder, even with 4s.Does yours look like this.
    It should have no problems with your 2.5 inch.

    Not much you can do with more then 4s with a slash imo.
    I have a couple times run 6s with my 2650 which is more then its rated for but it was a speed run only.
    Imo the 2400kv mmp or the mm2 with the 2400kv is great for the slash.
    If you need waterproof the mm2, if you stay clear of water the mmp.
    Just opinions, enjoy the hobby.
    Last edited by billy-bones; 12-26-2013 at 10:59 PM.
    Built Ford Tuff With Chevy Stuff.

  24. #24
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    107
    Quote Originally Posted by Bash'n'slash View Post
    Honestly I wouldn't bother with the big bone. There's not a thing wrong with the stock driveshaft.
    I'll try it stock but if that doesn't work I'll get the big bone

    Quote Originally Posted by billy-bones View Post
    Their should be no issue with the extended holder, even with 4s.Does yours look like this.
    It should have no problems with your 2.5 inch.
    That's mine I was just guessing on the size. I want to run a 5s and I've tried my 2s and 3s together they're to big.
    Last edited by cooleocool; 12-30-2013 at 07:09 PM. Reason: merge
    Hi-Tech Racing Engines
    Millenium Racing Chassis

  25. #25
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Land o' flat.....
    Posts
    1,261
    Quote Originally Posted by cmistac View Post
    The MM2 comes with adapters
    What kind of adapters are you talking about? For the battery connection or the motor connection?

  26. #26
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    398
    The motor to ESC connector MM2 has 10 gauge MMP has 13 gauge wire you'll have to use the adapters for easy plugs


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Slash 4x4 MMP/2800kv

    Slash 4x4 LGC MM2/2650kv

  27. #27
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Land o' flat.....
    Posts
    1,261
    Or you can de-solder the bullet connectors on the motor, and replace them with 6.5mm CC Bullet Connectors.

  28. #28
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Mainah
    Posts
    292
    Quote Originally Posted by Bash'n'slash View Post
    Honestly I wouldn't bother with the big bone. There's not a thing wrong with the stock driveshaft.
    This. I still run the stock shaft with no issues. Though My friend whom runs the big-bone shaft runs into problems with the set-screw backing out even with red threadlocker.

  29. #29
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    107
    I'll just stick with the stock
    Hi-Tech Racing Engines
    Millenium Racing Chassis

  30. #30
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Mesa az
    Posts
    392
    Quote Originally Posted by impulse43 View Post
    Oh I thought I saw A kit that you didn't have to
    There is not a kit to use Velcro with the slash but it is really easy to make a plate out of thin aluminum bolt it to the holes used for the stock hold downs and before you bolt it down stick the straps under it. If you want me to show you with some pics then I would gladly help.

  31. #31
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    87
    Velco is ral easy to do. I opted to put 4 slits in the battery tray and feed the velcro through there. I feel a lot more confident with the velco than the broken battery mounting pins I've been experiencing.

  32. #32
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    107
    Quote Originally Posted by Wakesurfer98 View Post
    There is not a kit to use Velcro with the slash but it is really easy to make a plate out of thin aluminum bolt it to the holes used for the stock hold downs and before you bolt it down stick the straps under it. If you want me to show you with some pics then I would gladly help.
    I don't need pics I'll just drill a couple holes
    Hi-Tech Racing Engines
    Millenium Racing Chassis

  33. #33
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Mesa az
    Posts
    392
    Quote Originally Posted by impulse43 View Post
    I don't need pics I'll just drill a couple holes
    I just used stock holes and made a plate to directly fit it's really easy

  34. #34
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    107
    Do puretech straps work if not ill use aluminum
    Hi-Tech Racing Engines
    Millenium Racing Chassis

  35. #35
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Mesa az
    Posts
    392
    Quote Originally Posted by impulse43 View Post
    Do puretech straps work if not ill use aluminum
    Idk I use losi straps. What I'm saying is make an aluminum plate that fits the chassis perfect. Then put the straps on the chassis then put the aluminum over the straps bolt it down then your done no chassis cutting. Srry just making sure you understand me.

  36. #36
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    398
    Did anybody say spur gears. I ran mine today first try my mesh was off. Put new one on and she's flying around now. Soldering the connecter was a pain since its so thick and I only had 30watt gun.

    Also temp gun, I watched everything like a hawk 4-5 times during 45 mins I stopped to check temps


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Slash 4x4 MMP/2800kv

    Slash 4x4 LGC MM2/2650kv

  37. #37
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    107
    Quote Originally Posted by Wakesurfer98 View Post
    Idk I use losi straps. What I'm saying is make an aluminum plate that fits the chassis perfect. Then put the straps on the chassis then put the aluminum over the straps bolt it down then your done no chassis cutting. Srry just making sure you understand me.
    Okay send me a couple pics and a list of what I need I thought u were talking about something else

    Do you know a good sized strap that works well?
    Last edited by cooleocool; 12-30-2013 at 07:08 PM. Reason: merge
    Hi-Tech Racing Engines
    Millenium Racing Chassis

  38. #38
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Mesa az
    Posts
    392
    Quote Originally Posted by impulse43 View Post
    Okay send me a couple pics and a list of what I need I thought u were talking about something else
    I used losi scte straps I believe I can't remember. But I will get some pics later and post them up.

  39. #39
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    107
    alright thanks
    Hi-Tech Racing Engines
    Millenium Racing Chassis

  40. #40
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Land o' flat.....
    Posts
    1,261
    IDK if you have any, but if not LIPOS!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •