RC Enthusiast

Stampede with Sidewinder 3/4600kv 1406

Hey everyone,

I recently got a 2wd Stampede. I'd like to go brushless and had been looking at the castle sidewinder 3800kv combo. However, they recently released the Sidewinder 3 and it's bundled with the 4600kv motor.

I've heard that there is less you can do with gearing, and there may be more heat issues with the 4600 and less torque. However, the combo price is really good, and being waterproof is important to me. I'm not sure how big of a deal these compromises would be with the 2wd.

Let me know what you guys think. Thanks!

RC Champion
    The 4600 is still a 4 pole system so it will work well in a pede. Not as much power as the 3800 but its special. Its basically a 550 rotor shoved in a 540 can. One benefit of the 4600 is it will be easier on the drive shafts.
    Oderint Dum Metuant

RC Champion
    Yeah, I have no experience with this system, but the general idea is that if you are limited to solely running 2S packs, this would be your most optimal system. The 3800 runs 2S well and 3S also. The 2400 is pretty much a 3S system. I think there should be consideration to the weight savings when comparing a brushless system's motor size and the battery pack the drives it

Texas, Chemical Plant along the Gulf Coast
    I would much recommend the 3800kv Castle Motor over the 4600kv. You will have more fun and not have to worry about heat. The 4600kv would be perfect in something like a Slash or Rusty. As they run smaller tires and such. JMHO
    Weak Revenge
    Strong Forgive
    Intelligent Ignore

RC Champion