RC poster

Transmission - Grinding Gears and motor question.

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to RC Trucks, but need some help. I bought a Traxxas Slash 2WD Velineon Brushless for my 13 year old son for his birthday last month. He loves the truck and hasn't been driving it beyond what I would consider normal conditions for the truck (yes....some jumping, but in top soil type dirt off small jumps he built with a shovel).

One day after driving, it started to make a horrible grinding noise from the gears in the transmission. Upon closer inspection, it revealed that he cracked the main frame (grey frame that the battery mounts too and all the rest of the suspension). There was also a crack in the plastic gear box.

After tearing it all down, all the gears appear fine, so my question is, could the "grinding" gears actually be slipping gears from the gear box case not being tight enough because of the cracks?

Is it normal for one rear wheel to turn the opposite direction of the other rear wheel when turning it manually by hand? When I removed the motor, it didn't do this, but as soon as I install the motor and re-engage the metal gear on the motor with the bigger plastic gear (slipper clutch?) then it does this.

I plan to replace the gear box (grey plastic casing around all the gears) and the main grey frame, but while I have the entire transmission apart, are there some typical failure items in there that I should just replace while I'm at it?

Also, one other question about the motor. I noticed that the main shaft coming out of the motor is not centered. It's like it is off to one side and when you spin it manually, you can see the main shaft spinning in kind of an oval shape rather than being perfectly centered. I assume this isn't right? Are these serviceable or am I just SOL and have to also buy a whole new motor?

I realize I may not have some of the terminology correct on the parts so I've included some pictures to try and help.

A view of where the main frame broke: