Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Barrie, ON, Canada
    Posts
    378

    Can I switch DC with the radio?

    Hi. I want to run some LED's on my Traxxas model and wondered if there was an easy way for me to switch the LED's on/off using a spare channel. I really want to avoid running an external power supply (9v battery) and figured there must be a way I can use the receiver power as well.... ??

    Thanks for any input boys!
    http://www.mkeeler.com

  2. #2
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    New York State: Snowbelt
    Posts
    747
    There are a few posts for it on here, just use search button. Also some on YouTube

    "Do a search" is not an appropriate reply on these forums.
    Please post a valid reply or refrain.
    -ksb51rl
    Last edited by ksb51rl; 09-09-2012 at 10:50 PM.
    SUMMIT |MERV * FIVE-T * REVO-E| T- MAXX-E

  3. #3
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Barrie, ON, Canada
    Posts
    378
    I tried. What are you searching? Search for LED's and you'll be here all night reading through tips on how to connect two wires to a battery
    http://www.mkeeler.com

  4. #4
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,377
    I picked up something called a receiver switch. You just hit a switch on the remote, and the receiver switch turns on or off. There are LED controllers out there that have receiver switches. This forum doesn't want people posting links to other manufacturers, but here's a video of me using mine:


  5. #5
    Marshal ksb51rl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Northern NJ
    Posts
    16,796
    Quote Originally Posted by krallopian View Post
    I picked up something called a receiver switch. You just hit a switch on the remote, and the receiver switch turns on or off. There are LED controllers out there that have receiver switches. This forum doesn't want people posting links to other manufacturers, but here's a video of me using mine...
    There are now only a VERY FEW manufacturers that are not permitted. If you have a question on this policy, please contact a marshal, moderator, or employee. What you posted is incorrect on its face.
    Alt-248 on the number pad =

  6. #6
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO.
    Posts
    2,093
    PM sent to you with added information

  7. #7
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    9
    You can use a RC switch with a regulator 78L05 to get supply from RC connector and a LM317 mounted in current generator connected to the battery. You have to insert a resistor R=1.2/I on the regulator to provide the I current ( typ 20mA).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •