Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 44
  1. #1
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    surrey B.C. canada!
    Posts
    366

    how to mod this?

    hey guys so i have a traxxas 2.4ghz 4ch radio system in my crawler (different brand crawler) and i want rear steering but with the toggle. ive already modded the thumb switch for my winch and i want to make it so that i can make a servo go from left-centre-right but the toggle only makes servos go from centre to one side. so what do i have to do to make the servo go both directions and centre through the toggle switch?

    any help would be appreciated
    can i get it dad?
    "and thats how its done!"

  2. #2
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. JimmyNeutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, Michigan
    Posts
    12,316
    Only channels 1-3 center.
    Channels 4 and 5 are full sweep; no center.

    Sounds like you are out of centering channels...

    Might want to look into PunkRC steering PC.
    Whatever it is I just typed... could be wrong.

  3. #3
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    surrey B.C. canada!
    Posts
    366
    holly crap that things pretty cool! but instead of getting one of those is there any way i can literally hot-wire the switch? i do have some old remotes lying around do you think i could take the steering wheel out of one and solder it to the switch wires? hahah im willing to try anything. and if there is no other possible way i will probably get that little steering PC.
    can i get it dad?
    "and thats how its done!"

  4. #4
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. JimmyNeutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, Michigan
    Posts
    12,316
    Maybe.... I'm not sure, but trying to add a second steering wheel should be reversible.

    I have the steering PC... it ROCKS.
    Whatever it is I just typed... could be wrong.

  5. #5
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    surrey B.C. canada!
    Posts
    366
    ya i looked at that steering PC and it looked awsome! until i looked at the price... but this might be my only option. also i saw a video of the steering PC and he had a modded switch on the remote. what did he mod inside for that?
    can i get it dad?
    "and thats how its done!"

  6. #6
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. JimmyNeutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, Michigan
    Posts
    12,316
    You can program the PC to recognize a 2 position switch or a three position switch. (You loose 1 function with the 2 position) Since you have the last 3 position tied up with your winch, you will have to tap into channel 4 to get the PC to work with a 2 position switch.
    Whatever it is I just typed... could be wrong.

  7. #7
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    surrey B.C. canada!
    Posts
    366
    Oh okay. Oh I just came up with something is it possible to have a switch that combines ch3 to ch4? That way if I want to run the winch I can just switch a 3-way switch to the winch then back to the steering when I'm done?
    can i get it dad?
    "and thats how its done!"

  8. #8
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. JimmyNeutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, Michigan
    Posts
    12,316
    Not possible...
    Possible on the Tx end... not possible on the Rx end.
    Whatever it is I just typed... could be wrong.

  9. #9
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    surrey B.C. canada!
    Posts
    366
    Aww lol I tryed! So out of all this I can't use my 4 and 5ch toggle for the winch?
    can i get it dad?
    "and thats how its done!"

  10. #10
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. JimmyNeutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, Michigan
    Posts
    12,316
    How does the winch work??
    Whatever it is I just typed... could be wrong.

  11. #11
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    surrey B.C. canada!
    Posts
    366
    Well I had to mod the thumb switch so that it centered and then when I turn it on the winch just starts working in the direction I switch it to. See the reason I had to put the switch in was because without it the winch would just keep going, I could switch the direction but couldn't shut it off etc. if you want I can post a pic of my mod.
    can i get it dad?
    "and thats how its done!"

  12. #12
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. JimmyNeutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, Michigan
    Posts
    12,316
    I am trying to figure out how to get the two signals for channel 4 and 5 into one servo... so far I have not come up with anything.

    A pic would be nice... thanks!
    Whatever it is I just typed... could be wrong.

  13. #13
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    surrey B.C. canada!
    Posts
    366
    Ya see that's exactly what I was trying to do. I just ordered a servo Y cennector so I'm going to see what will happen when I plug both ends into ch4 and 5 and then to the servo. I'll let you know what happeneds after I get the cennector in.

    Here's those pics:
    http://http://m1191.photobucket.com/albums/jltraxxas/?src=www?pbauth=1_uLEBonVPfaLdh1h3YMYz2dtoGdxKpSXQ 3sqnCxcCBsaGUMJortr84uWnH%2BWjWOS6bQJ%2Fbqdn1ydewl BtmPdeAqMad71vqEIN%2FRUSGj4EKWuWGEIGWU2tUS82X8unbS AAU5WTwwl%2FY%2FNC7QETwYb3iEc8VMvcKA6lxLWiZ6gxMr0% 3D
    can i get it dad?
    "and thats how its done!"

  14. #14
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Aust.
    Posts
    69
    I don't think a Y harness will work. Servo position is controlled by PWM (pulse width modulation), whereby there is a short, medium and long signal corresponding to left, middle, right position of a servo.
    Connecting two together will give a middle position, but left and right will fluctuate the servo like crazy as it would be getting two signals that are never constant to each other. The two signals together could cause the servo to overdrive 90 degrees, and in the worse case, back signal through the receiver could damage it.

    I'd be using the thumb switch for the rear steer since its already three position, and rig the other switch to the winch.

  15. #15
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. JimmyNeutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, Michigan
    Posts
    12,316
    Then his winch will only spool in one direction.

    I am not so sure he is going to be able to do what he wants to do....
    Whatever it is I just typed... could be wrong.

  16. #16
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    surrey B.C. canada!
    Posts
    366
    jimmie is right. i tried it on both 4 and 5 but it only goes in and out. theres no centre for 4 and 5 sadly. but im hoping someone found out a way to have a centre switch for 4 or 5.
    can i get it dad?
    "and thats how its done!"

  17. #17
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Sherwood Forest, UK
    Posts
    210
    I have a really complicated way of doing it, depends how desperate you are.....

    Switch the signal out of the reciever from any of channels 1,2 or 3, using a very small servo on channel 4 to push a micro switch. (Or something like a battleswitch that the robot guys use.)

    Lets presume, you use channel 3 as your rear steering & winch. Channel 4 will then power up the winch to work with channel 3 & turn off the signal to the rear steering.
    With channel 4 turning the switch off, the winch will be off. With channel 4 turning the switch on, the winch will operate, but the rear steering will be off.

    That make sense?

    Maybe channel 2 (the throttle) would be better? Switching between the motor or the winch?

  18. #18
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    surrey B.C. canada!
    Posts
    366
    haha i somewhat got that but not completely positive. so are you saying that a servo running on ch4 on the truck physically switches the wires between rear steering and the winch???? im confused but that all i got out of that lol.
    can i get it dad?
    "and thats how its done!"

  19. #19
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Sherwood Forest, UK
    Posts
    210
    Yeah, use a servo on channel 4 to push onto a micro switch to turn it on & off. That switch will control where channel 3 is fed to. The winch or the rear wheels.

    Instead of a servo pushing a micro switch, you can buy dedicated relays that do the job. I have one called a battleswitch. Search the net for 'BattleSwitch radio controlled 10A relay'. They are expensive & heavy though. Maybe something better out there. You certainly don't need 10amp capability!

  20. #20
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    surrey B.C. canada!
    Posts
    366
    actually i just created my own two seconds ago but that thing looks even better and smaller. wait so with the switch am i just using the one white wire and just using the one white wire from all three wires (one from reciever, one from rear st, and one from winch)?

    did you want me to take a pic of the switch i just made?
    can i get it dad?
    "and thats how its done!"

  21. #21
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,394
    I want you to! This looks really interesting.
    Two Rusty VXLs, M2Ks 18/83 - Tag! You're it!

  22. #22
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    surrey B.C. canada!
    Posts
    366
    haha you made a typing error "i want you to!" haha nice. but ya i know now what i want for my bday
    can i get it dad?
    "and thats how its done!"

  23. #23
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Sherwood Forest, UK
    Posts
    210
    I was just thinking of the signal wire, yes. Thinking about it though, I have no idea how a servo will act with just power & no signal.
    I've only used the method I described to switch between channels, all the servos always had signal from somewhere. You'll have to hook it up & trial it. Hopefully the servos will just sit with no signal connected. I suppose you could always double up on switches & kill the power as well.

  24. #24
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. JimmyNeutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, Michigan
    Posts
    12,316
    If you want to kill power and signal with one switch: DPST
    Whatever it is I just typed... could be wrong.

  25. #25
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    surrey B.C. canada!
    Posts
    366
    whats DPST? haha every now and then i have to ask noob questions
    can i get it dad?
    "and thats how its done!"

  26. #26
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. JimmyNeutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, Michigan
    Posts
    12,316
    Double
    Pole
    Single
    Throw

    Whatever it is I just typed... could be wrong.

  27. #27
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    surrey B.C. canada!
    Posts
    366
    ohhhh okay haha so now i need to find a DPST 3 way switch? so i guess that 10a relay you said wont work hu. would i be using the white and red wire or white and black for the switch? i guess it doesn't matter between red or black.
    can i get it dad?
    "and thats how its done!"

  28. #28
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Sherwood Forest, UK
    Posts
    210
    Have you tried just switching white? What did the servo do with white disconnected?

  29. #29
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    surrey B.C. canada!
    Posts
    366
    ya i dont think non of us have tryed it yet so we have no clue.
    can i get it dad?
    "and thats how its done!"

  30. #30
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Boston Ma
    Posts
    42
    pardon my newness but a winch on an RC truck? What is it used for?
    thanks
    Rustler VXL
    Slash 4x4 VXL

  31. #31
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Sherwood Forest, UK
    Posts
    210
    Pass. I know some of the crawler guys use them though.

  32. #32
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Boston Ma
    Posts
    42
    I know what they are used for, I have a large truck and go off road all the time and have had to use them but I am having trouble understanding its use on a 1/10 scale? Maybe a competition course?
    Rustler VXL
    Slash 4x4 VXL

  33. #33
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    surrey B.C. canada!
    Posts
    366
    Well the truck I'm using my winch on isn't a traxxas truck but I've got all the traxxas alectronics in it. The truck I'm using is a scx10 dingo
    can i get it dad?
    "and thats how its done!"

  34. #34
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Boston Ma
    Posts
    42
    could you tell me how it is used? What would one be needed for?
    Rustler VXL
    Slash 4x4 VXL

  35. #35
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    surrey B.C. canada!
    Posts
    366
    well #1 its good for competitions, because in competitions you cant tip your truck back over if you flip it! its either you get someone else with a strap on there truck or you use your own winch. these little winches are surprisingly strong it can lift my truck easily right off the ground. what do you mean "how is it used? like are you asking how to install the wiring or installing period?
    can i get it dad?
    "and thats how its done!"

  36. #36
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Boston Ma
    Posts
    42
    That is what I was wondering, If it was used in competition. I am pretty new to this hobby and still learning.
    Rustler VXL
    Slash 4x4 VXL

  37. #37
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    surrey B.C. canada!
    Posts
    366
    ohh okay well what rc's u got so far?
    can i get it dad?
    "and thats how its done!"

  38. #38
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Boston Ma
    Posts
    42
    rustler and a slash but I want to pick up an emaxx for off roading/climbing stuff, the other 2 turned into speed runners
    Rustler VXL
    Slash 4x4 VXL

  39. #39
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    surrey B.C. canada!
    Posts
    366
    well the e-maxx is a little big for that winch. it will work but you would need to help the winch through a little throttle. if you are going to do rock crawling, the e-maxx wont work very well.
    can i get it dad?
    "and thats how its done!"

  40. #40
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Boston Ma
    Posts
    42
    well when I say rock crawling I dont mean anything serious, probably more in the lines of bashing really
    Rustler VXL
    Slash 4x4 VXL

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •