Thread: Clicking!?

RC Racer

Clicking!?

So I here clicking and I'm not a happy camper. I just fixed my drive shafts so I could run my mini summit and now something else is wrong. Usually I here 1 single click when I punch reverse. Sometimes breaking after coming down from a wheely makes 1 single click as well. I'm nervous about this because the only thing I have ever worked on in my truck is the drive shafts. I don't know much about gearing and correctly lubing and what have you. So my question is what do you think is making that 1 click and what is the procedure if any at this point. I'll be happy to try and explain what the problem is more if I don't make sense. Again I'm kinda new at RC cars, hence my nervousness to mess with the driveline and gears. Where is the crying face? Uh this will do

RC Racer
    ok i had the same problem and soon it will turn to 2 clicks and then 3 and then you cant keep track of how many. what it is is the differential, what happens is the gears are in the plastic bulk head, so the have room to move away from each other under stress and then strip so the click that you hear is the diff slipping a tooth on the gear. Eventually the gear will wear out, so to fix it you need to replace the differential gears and shim them i did it with 8x10mm kyosho shims it comes with 10 of each 0.1, 0.2 and 0.3 thickness shims. Also check this out it tells you how to shim them. http://traxxas.com/forums/showthread...-your-bulkhead. Ever sense i did this no clicking and no problems with my diffs. It takes patients but it pays off in the long run good luck.

RC Racer
    I had a feeling I might get this answer. This sounds great and all but I click on the link and step 1 is: Complete Tear Down. That to me scares the crap out of me. Can I do this without a complete tear down? I'm nervous about not being able to put it back together correctly. Is it as difficult as it looks or am I being a weener?

Patience is key...