Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    31

    Exclamation stock 2.4 TQ transmitter BIND to MMP ESC. NEED HELP!!!!

    so this is where im stuck at now... ive done pretty much everything i can...

    and when binding the two.. ALL the light on the mmp esc flash and beeps...

    im thinking it can be the throttle channel... says i need to get it between 100 to 120%

    anybody know how to change this on the stock transmitters...?

  2. #2
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Lilydale, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    2,845
    Transmitter does not "bind" to the ESC

    Bind refers to the process of pairing your transmitter and reciever together


    Read the manual that came with the car should tell you how to set the throttle travel (EPA)

    If you havent changed it from stock it should be at 100%, you may need to change the braking as I have heard they are set at 50% stock, it needs to be set at 100% as well


    Are you entering the calibration mode when you power up the ESC ?

    You may need to reverse the throttle channel if the ESC fails to read full the throttle signal during calibration

    Do you have the castlelink adapter to set the ESC up on your computer ?

    Cheers
    Last edited by crusey; 05-07-2011 at 06:34 PM.
    Slash Platinum
    Xerun 150 / Tenshock SC401 3500kv

  3. #3
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    568
    you need to use a stock powercell or it will not bind. ive had this situation lol

  4. #4
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Lilydale, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    2,845
    Why would that make a difference ?

    Castle ESC's are in auto-lipo mode by default

    Cheers
    Slash Platinum
    Xerun 150 / Tenshock SC401 3500kv

  5. #5
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    568
    i know but i had the same thing happend to me. And i thought the esc or the receiver was the problem. But then i tried a stock powercell an it worked fine. An has been working since

  6. #6
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    31
    ok... so ive tried ALL of the above suggesting suggestions... n none of them worked.. i have the usb link n adaptor yes.. even even messed with setting on there.. n put it all to defalt n tried again.. n NOTHING.. its NOT even entering calibration mode.


    dose the EXACT same thing when the transmitter isnt on and just the ESC... thought using the stock powercell would help but didnt.. even changing the trims" low n high didnt work.. its still stuck in some stupid annoying mode.. ALL my polarity is correct n double checked. I DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO!!!!! ITS NOT ENTERING CALIBRATION MODE AND CASTLE HAS NO TROBLESHOOTS THAT WORK FOR THAT. do i need another transmitter instead of the 2.4 stock one/./??

    im utterly lost n confused on what to do from this point onwards, cause i thought it was compatible..

    plz, if any one can shine some light on my situation!! im gonna re try all the suggestions made AGAIN N AGAIN.. till more come.


    S.O.S HELP!!!

  7. #7
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    ND
    Posts
    526
    Are u holding full throttle on the transmitter when you turn on the ESC?

  8. #8
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Lilydale, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    2,845
    Are the transmitter and reciever bound to each other ?

    Is the cable from the ESC to the reciever plugged into the correct slot ?

    Cheers
    Slash Platinum
    Xerun 150 / Tenshock SC401 3500kv

  9. #9
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    31
    yes, and yes... im starting to think i would have been better off with getting the tekin RS pro....
    ALL what its been doing is having the start up sound and beeping after with all the light blinking...


    THIS SUCKS!!! Im feeling ripped off with this ESC. WHY IS THIS SOO DIFFICULT?!?????

  10. #10
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    ND
    Posts
    526
    I didn't have any issues getting mine to setup.....

    Directions where esy to fallow n worked good.

  11. #11
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    31
    only the servo is responsive and works...


    other than that.. NOTHING.. same beeping and flashing.

    SIGH*

  12. #12
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Birmingham, AL
    Posts
    448
    Have you tried calling Castle?

  13. #13
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    31
    yupp... but there closed... so i send em an email..

    its been MONTHS N MONTHS now that my MERV is outta order.. n was soo looking forward to the MMP esc.. and then this DISAPPOINTMENT. its "life" tho... but im starting to think "life would hve been better wit a tekin esc.... but hered there only ment for short run times... nd that tekin is a lil more difficult to use.. ANYWAYS. MMP was the more logical choice.

    THE MMP IS A NEW ESC ASWELL!! so im just flabbergasted on why its not calibrated already, lol

    I REALLY APPRECIATE ALL THE ADVISE N SUPPORT GUYS!!!!

  14. #14
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Lilydale, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    2,845
    ESC cant come calibrated from the factory because every transmitter is different

    Look for something simple

    Do you have your thottle trim centered and travel EPA's set at 100% ?

    Are your transmitter batteries charged ?

    What main battery are you using ?

    Do you have another transmitter or ESC to help locate the problem ?

    Cheers
    Slash Platinum
    Xerun 150 / Tenshock SC401 3500kv

  15. #15
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    31
    yea i know, im trying to calibrate it everytime i do something new or change settings...

    yes, trim is centered, but that "trim" is also used at the "epa" so when i set the trim and epa to 100%, still didnt enter calibration mode... ill charge up some new batts. for the transmitter n try that..

    was using a na o tech 2s lipo

    switched to the stock powercell one..

    nope, only stock transmitter.. and stock esc is fried.

    and there are 4mm bullets soldiered to the motor.


    :S

  16. #16
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    39
    Try plugging the steering servo into the throttle channel and see if you can control the servo with the trigger.
    I had a similar issue, where one second the throttle channel worked fine and then stopped working altogether. Traxxas said that the throttle potentiometer in the transmitter had gone bad. Basically the throttle position was stuck in one place and moving the trigger wouldn't change it so you can't calibrate the ESC.
    I sent my radio back to Traxxas for repair. I got it back and the trottle worked great, but the same thing happened to the steering potentiometer. I chucked the radio and went a picked up a Futaba. Works great.

    Of course none of that applies if the steering servo moves fine in the thottle channel.
    I hope that helps some.

  17. #17
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    31
    Ahh... thanks man!! ill give that a try!!


    if not, ill look into a new transmitter.

  18. #18
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    31
    ok.... so the ESC did something new!!! when i did that... was flasing on green and yellow..

    and servo wasnst responsive threw that..

    TRANSMITTER. now the only question i have on this... can i use another transmitter with the same link....??


    thanks!

  19. #19
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    31
    are the spektrum dx2s or 3s compatible with stock link..? or better of getting one with receiver..??

  20. #20
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. JimmyNeutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, Michigan
    Posts
    12,316
    Traxxas only works with traxxas, futaba with futaba, ect.
    Whatever it is I just typed... could be wrong.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •