RC poster

Stampede 2WD vs 4X4

Hello,
    I have light RC experience and am deciding between buying the Stampede VXL and the Stampede 4x4. Not going to be racing on any tracks, but will be on all sorts of terrain, bashing, racing friends, etc.

The price difference isn't enough to make up my mind. Local Hobby Shop told me the VXL is the most fun of any he has, but I will end up liking the added stability of the 4x4. I guess one concern is am I giving up top end speed with the 4x4? The maintenance doesn't scare me, as i've torn down and built a few of these things.

Please advise!

RC Racer
    im brand new to the world of r/c. but i can say traxxas has been very good to me so far and as far as 2x4 or 4x4, if money isnt an issue all day with the 4x4 but this is just my opinion

RC Turnbuckle Jr. pavmentsurfer's Avatar
    As a huge proponent of the 2X4... I have recently been able to (finally) run my 4X4 and I can say that the 4X4 is amazing. I think what you should consider between the 2 is durability and simplicity. The 4X4 is durable, but not likely as much as the 2X4 due to increase in moving parts, gears, bearings etc etc. Its also not nearly as simple to work on and/or maintain. The 2X4 COULD be faster... but once you get in the 50mph range (which both are capable of) these trucks become pretty much uncontrollable anyway so speed shouldnt really be a concern.

My 4X4 pede is amazing... but my 2X4 pede is still the easiest to run and keep running. Just my opinion... and it may change after I get more hours on my 4X4 but no matter what, my 2X4 will never leave the fleet.

RC Qualifier
    Quote Originally Posted by pavmentsurfer View Post
    My 4X4 pede is amazing... but my 2X4 pede is still the easiest to run and keep running. Just my opinion... and it may change after I get more hours on my 4X4 but no matter what, my 2X4 will never leave the fleet.