RC Enthusiast

Battery question

I am new to the RC world and just bought a 2wd slash. This thing is awesome and I want it to last specially the batteries. Right now I have 2 of the stock batteries that come with the truck. I am just wondering what type of battery maintenance there is. Here are a few questions:
    1. Can you leave them charged and if so for how long?
    2. How long after you run your truck do you wait to recharge it?

I have about a million other questions and will get them out in due time. I have 2 boys that are 8 and 6 that love driving the truck. I am going to buy them each a truck of there own soon. I just found a local indoor track that I am going to look at today. Mostly we are into extreme jumping. We built a ramp yesterday and jumped my chevrolet 1500 pickup truck. The kids loved it and that is what it is all about. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

John

RC Qualifier
    Welcome John!

I am not sure if there are any special rules abour NiMH batteries and storage, however I can tell you that it is best to wait for the batteires to be cool to the touch before you charge.
    Chris
    Summit 4s
    DiggerPede 2s & 3s
    Slash 2WD 2s

RC Competitor
    Check with some of the places that sell batteries they have some good videos on them. You can go to you tube and get lots of info on rc. You can find clips on all the major brands and types. Look hard at the Stampede for your boys lots of fun and not so serious. Welcome to the Sport. Slashman51

RC Racer
    Here is some basic info to help with battery care. click me

RC Enthusiast
    I have always kept my NiMH batteries charged at 50% of capacity when I store them for over a week. LiPo batteries can remain charged for a very long period of time before they need a discharge.

RC Qualifier
    Quote Originally Posted by voltzipper
    ... LiPo batteries can remain charged for a very long period of time before they need a discharge.

Regarding Lipos: