Cool Homemade nitro caddy. (Pictures.)

Hey guys-

I finished this project up several weeks ago, but I thought now was as good a time as any to share some pictures of it. For a little over a year, I was using a tool box drawer as a caddy for all of my nitro equipment when I'd go out for a run (transmitter, fuel bottle, tools, starter, etc.). Between getting tired of everything just kind of sloshing around in there and me using that drawer for something else, I decided that I needed something better. I thought about buying a plastic caddy to use, but that would have been to easy (and not to mention uncreative). So I got to thinking... why not build my own? I have a fairly complete woodworking shop, so I did.

It took me several evenings to complete, but I took my time and got it done. I am, for the most part, a self taught wood worker, so I had to learn how to do a few things to make this caddy. Things like mitering the edges and such were something that I have done numerous times, but I had never used a router before this point, nor had I used a band saw. My choice of wood was some nice looking pine. Though my first choice would have been some thicker plywood for strength, I decided that pine would work just fine for something like this because all of my nitro gear doesn't weigh a whole lot anyway. In all, I ended up using the compound miter saw, table saw, band saw, jig saw, and a router as far as wood working tools go. I also used an air nailer (my smaller Brad nailer), some wood glue, and a few screws for added security. I sanded the wood with varying grits of sand paper and sealed it with a clear Minwax semi-gloss urethane clear.