Results 1 to 28 of 28
  1. #1
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    3,164

    R/C Dirt Track Design Tool

    Does anyone know of a program that I can design a R/C track on? Besides the paint program that is on my computer?

    It would be nice to be able to grab a table top and throw it in to see were it fits, etc.

    Thanks.
    President
    No Limit R/C of Maryland

  2. #2
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lugoff, SC
    Posts
    3,837
    Google Sketch-Up can do it. you can do ALL KINDS of stuff. its really cool.

    CLICK!
    RIP Bart Hinson
    1992-2009

  3. #3
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    connecticut
    Posts
    1,098
    A pencil and paper always works...
    |^^^^^^^^^^^ | ||__ DRAGSTER
    |____TRAXXAS ___| ||'|";\..
    |(@)'(@)""*''|(@)(@)***(@)

  4. #4
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    lancaster p.a
    Posts
    170
    auto cad but it will cost a ptitty penny!!!!
    Got a slash coming?

  5. #5
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    3,164
    Thanks, I'm gonna download that when I get on my home computer.

    Paper and Pencil is an option but I was looking for an easy way. I know there is a dirt bike game somewhere that you can design your own track on. It was probably on the commodore 64 tho, lol.

    I have autocad here at work but I'm not going to do it here.
    President
    No Limit R/C of Maryland

  6. #6
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    lancaster p.a
    Posts
    170
    ^^^^^^^^ you should copy the auto cad and send me a disk of it.
    Got a slash coming?

  7. #7
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    I don't know...
    Posts
    2,427
    Quote Originally Posted by dragster
    A pencil and paper always works...

    Just what he said.

  8. #8
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,145
    Quote Originally Posted by super cool heli
    ^^^^^^^^ you should copy the auto cad and send me a disk of it.

    And risk his job? Isn't auto cad like $500+? Also, it's illegal. (Unless auto-cad allows it)
    No rusty & no maxx

  9. #9
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lugoff, SC
    Posts
    3,837
    i just used sketchup. my track looks pretty good believe it or not!
    RIP Bart Hinson
    1992-2009

  10. #10
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    5,257
    Quote Originally Posted by rusty&maxx
    And risk his job? Isn't auto cad like $500+? Also, it's illegal. (Unless auto-cad allows it)
    Try closer to a $3000 program.
    My truck sees more air than yours!!!

  11. #11
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,145
    Quote Originally Posted by RCOVERBOARD
    Try closer to a $3000 program.


    Wow...



    Just tried sketchup, once you get familiar with it, I see it being very useful.

    Quote Originally Posted by RustlerRacer16
    i just used sketchup. my track looks pretty good believe it or not!

    I can't seem to be able to go 3d jumps yet, still trying.
    No rusty & no maxx

  12. #12
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    3,164
    Yea, I like my job to much. Been here 14 years and I am the V.P. So, no chance in getting that program from me.
    President
    No Limit R/C of Maryland

  13. #13
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    aurora IL
    Posts
    1,662
    i am downloading google sketchup right now as i type. i hope its cool. i really like the flying feature in google earth. i hope that have cool stuff in here too.
    Don't worry, its a rental. It can take it...

  14. #14
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,145
    Quote Originally Posted by NitroRustler41
    i am downloading google sketchup right now as i type. i hope its cool. i really like the flying feature in google earth. i hope that have cool stuff in here too.

    N, give it some time to get used to it. I just got done with my first track. I didn't use any 3d jump, but, here...




    Sorry, couldn't get the pic without taskbar.

    It's cool too because You can plan out how big your backyard is, that is my 61X23 1/4 backyard track plan, you like? (Red = jumps)
    No rusty & no maxx

  15. #15
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    318
    Quote Originally Posted by RCOVERBOARD
    Try closer to a $3000 program.
    Holy cow didnt know AutoCAD cost that much.
    But my dad uses it all the time.
    Drafting/design kinda stuff.

  16. #16
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    4,478
    Quote Originally Posted by Hylton32
    I know there is a dirt bike game somewhere that you can design your own track on. It was probably on the commodore 64 tho, lol.
    Excitebike 64 for N64 has an track builder feature.
    I tried being reasonable, I didn't like it.

  17. #17
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    5,257
    You can get the student version of autocad for around $500, but the complete version is very expensive. Trust me I know, I have autocad 2004 here at home. I bought it while I was in school for design drafting. Granted at work we use 2008, but I can still work on things at home at least.
    My truck sees more air than yours!!!

  18. #18
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tuscumbia, AL
    Posts
    805
    that goodle sketch thing should be enough to buil a track, im almost done with a 3d model of my track on it
    Poohbear72

  19. #19
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    aurora IL
    Posts
    1,662
    well, my computer says i don't have the administrative rights, so i can't run the program. dang! i want to run the virtual dyno program so bad! and this sketch thing looks fun!
    Don't worry, its a rental. It can take it...

  20. #20
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,456
    its hard to use. i downloaded it today for the track im builing over my drop off.
    VXL RUSTLER
    XL-5 SNOW PLOW PEDE
    HELI MAX CPv3

  21. #21
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    77
    i have had scketchup for a while and just keep getting better... don't think it is even possible to make 3-d jump though
    traxxas is...

  22. #22
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    571
    i just dowloaded scketchup i looks like it will be pretty good to use for makeing tracks and stuff. you can make 3-d jumps by makeing a box elevated and then draw a line down to the ground and conect it all.
    I need a new signature...

  23. #23
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,456
    ive made two. How do i show u guys what i made. Do i take a picture of it and put it on photo bucket or do i copy it some how. I made two. I made a design of a real one i use to have.
    VXL RUSTLER
    XL-5 SNOW PLOW PEDE
    HELI MAX CPv3

  24. #24
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lugoff, SC
    Posts
    3,837
    RIP Bart Hinson
    1992-2009

  25. #25
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lugoff, SC
    Posts
    3,837
    what do you guys think? Curved turns=burms and the ladder looking part is whoops. i cant find out how to make the burms 3D.
    RIP Bart Hinson
    1992-2009

  26. #26
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    77
    i fugured out how to make 3-d almost, just dont know how to make the jumps have a solid ground(used a ton of lines close together fr the ramp)
    traxxas is...

  27. #27
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lugoff, SC
    Posts
    3,837
    for 3D, make a 2D square on the ground. use the Push/Pull tool (the box with the Up arrow on it) and pull the box as high as you want the ramp to be. then using the Move/Copy tool (the one with crosshairs) hover over the top edge of the box that you want to be the low side of the ramp. when the edge turns blue, drag it towards the ground. it takes some fiddling b/c sometimes it wants to move it on a different axis than the blue one you want to move on. but youll figure it out with some practice.

    my information technology teacher last year taught us all the ins and outs of sketchup i really like it.
    RIP Bart Hinson
    1992-2009

  28. #28
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    North-West Ohio
    Posts
    978
    this is cool....
    God is good.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •