2nd Annual NHRA Traxxas Nitro Shootout

The NHRA Traxxas Nitro Shootout is the largest single-day payout in drag racing, with a total purse of $260,000. The races are held at the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis, IN, with Top Fuel competing on Saturday, August 31, 2013, and Funny Car on Sunday, September 1, 2013. If you can’t make it out to see the action in person, be sure to tune in to ESPN2 on Sunday, September 1, 2013, beginning at 1:00pm EST.

The drivers have been battling it out on the track all season for a spot in the NHRA Traxxas Nitro Shootout and a shot at the $100,000 prize in each category. Each runner-up will receive $15,000 and the semi-finalists will walk away with $7,500 each. In order to qualify, drivers have to win a Mello Yello Drag Racing Series national event, or be the highest ranked driver in the points standings for non-winners after the Lucas Oil Nationals in Brainerd, MN. The eighth and final spot in each category will be filled via a fan vote and lottery-style drawing during the Fan Fest in downtown Indianapolis, IN, on Wednesday, August 28, 2013.

In the Top Fuel category, Spencer Massey will be defending his 2012 NHRA Traxxas Nitro Shootout title against the biggest names in the sport. Massey will be competing against Shawn Langdon, Tony Schumacher, Antron Brown, Bob Vandergriff, Jr., Steve Torrence, Khalid alBalooshi, and the winner of the fan vote lottery drawing. In the Funny Car category, John Force will be attempting to repeat his performance from last year and take home another $100,000. Standing in his way will be his daughter Courtney Force, Ron Capps, Johnny Gray, Cruz Pedregon, Matt Hagan, Jack Beckman, and the winner of the fan vote lottery drawing.

Traxxas drivers Brittany Force and Robert Hight were not able to secure a spot in the NHRA Traxxas Nitro Shootout, so they will have to rely on the fan vote for a chance to race.  Be sure to go to the NHRA Facebook page and vote to “Make Brittany First in TF” and “Get it Right with Hight”. Voting is open now, and you can vote until 12:00pm EST on Tuesday, August 27, 2013.