RC Racer

Can I get some LiPo help and info

Can yall help me understand c ratings and how to charge lipos i only use nimh. batteries right now also r there any waterproof lipos thks also what is discharge and what is a balance charger?
    Last edited by The man11; 07-20-2014 at 09:45 PM.

RC Racer
    84 years and no one willing to help a guy out

RC Enthusiast
    The Man11

It surprises me no one has responded to you, they are usually pretty good about it. I am also new to lipo and have been doing a ton of research. Look through the lipo forum and look for Jimmie Neutron's posts. I have learned everything I need to know from this guy and his information is stellar. I couldn't tell you exactly what you need to know, I would have to refer to Jimmie's notes..... All I can say is SPC is a great battery, the higher the C rating the better, and always use a balance charger. Good luck

RC Racer
    Thks nag
    i will look for neutrons posts

RC Qualifier
    When you charge a Lipo you charge it at 1amp per 1000mah like Nimh because a Lipo has multiple cells the chargers that can charge Lipos have a balance Port for the balance plug for example a 2s lipo totals up too 7.4V but each sell holds 3.7V so the Balance plug equally place the voltage to the cells.
    Monster Energy MT, F-150 Raptor Stampede, Teton

RC Champion
    There are two C numbers,
    First C rating is the discharge rate should be double figures ie. 25C-40C the first digits 25C is the contstant discharge rate. This number is the multiplier with the capacity to give the ammount of amps it can constantly sustain for a length of time 25C 3000mah = 25C x (3000/1000) = 75Amps with a burst rating (about several seconds) 40C 3000mah = 120Amps.

Second C number is charge rate usually single digits, standard is 1C, again a multiplier, 1C x (3000/1000) = 3A, or if higher 2C x (3000/1000)=6A
    A fully charged standard lipo voltage is 4.2Volts per cell, A storage voltage is 3.85V per cell approximately.