RC Racer

Stupid questions about tyres/ wheels

sorry for the dumb questions but i have no knowledge of tyres and wheels bought separately as ive only ever bought mounted. i dont have a reliable hobby shop near me with reasonable prices or range so everything i buy is sight unseen off ebay.

if i buy the duratrax derringer tyres how do i know what size wheels to buy for it ?
    do i need to buy foam inserts for the tyres or do they come with the tyres ?
    is balancing necessary for a predominantly offroad rally or slash ? if so, what do you use for weights ?
    ive youtubed some tyre mounting videos and i think i have a relatively good idea on that but any tips or references would be appreciated.

thanks for any help.

RC Champion
    Typical wheel sizes for the Rally are the standard 2.2/3.0, Thats expressed as inches for the front and back. For these the front looks liek ahigh profile tire where as the back is like a low profile tire. The tires will only fit on the rim one way. The rims use a 12mm hex drive hub.

The other common used tire is the 1/8 buggy wheel, which is about 3.25 inchs in diameter. The tires are a lower profile and will fit on the rim independant of side. The hex drive on these are 17mm. Adapter are required for the Rally to use them. There are vairous other bigger wider tires and rims, but for the skae of this discussion we'll keep it to these two common ones.

If you are wanting to get Derrigers for the OEM rims, you need 2.2/3.0 tires. The other size would be 1/8 buggy, you will need new 1/8 buggy rims and 17mm hub adapters for those.

All Duratrax and Proline tires come with the foam inserts, so you ar enot required to purchase those separately. THere may be the odd case where this isn't ture, but not for anything I have purchased.