Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    3

    Is there a Dr. in the room?

    My son's 2 WD Stampede has gone down. Due to my lack of mechanical experience, this repair will be a learning experience. I just need some advice on what the problem is and how to fix it. Hopefully there are some in here that can quickly diagnose and write a script for it's illness.

  2. #2
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    220
    I would check all of the gears and make sure they aren't stripped and the mesh is set correctly

  3. #3
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. rag6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    PM me if ya wanna bash at Greenwood Bashplex in Pittsburgh PA
    Posts
    13,345
    sounds like the motor moved away from the pinion.
    Wanna bash at Greenwood Bashplex in Pittsburgh ???

  4. #4
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. O.G.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    South of St Louis
    Posts
    6,062
    While you're at it, clean the motor and oil the bushings.

    Put a piece of paper between the two gears for a rough estimate of gear mesh.
    My Black & Blue Rally is faster than your color...

  5. #5
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    703
    Just take off the black cover on the opposite side of the motor and you will see the problem.
    And we thought toy grade RC's where cool...

  6. #6
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    3
    Thanks everyone. Will do tonight and see what's going on in there.

  7. #7
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    3
    That's exactly what it was. The motor mounts must have loosened up. The gears weren't quite meeting up. Thanks for the help.

  8. #8
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    81
    tip:

    tighten the motor screws enough that the motor cant move in and out, but rotates in the case (adjusts mesh) freely. jam the gears together tightly, then spin the wheels slowly with your hand. the motor should automatically set itself to the correct mesh position
    I could have bought my LHS by now...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •