Results 1 to 23 of 23
  1. #1
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    27

    Connecting roof lights

    I bought some roof lights for my 3906 E-Maxx but there's no place to connect the lights. Can I splice into the wires? If so, which ones?

  2. #2
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,280
    There are no open slots on the receiver?
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  3. #3
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    27
    Just one open 3 pin slot. The lights have a 2 pin plug. Different connectors altogether.

  4. #4
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,280
    Red JST like this?


    If so, it will plug into the 3 pin slot... just make sure the red wire is in the center and the black wire is toward the outside edge. Basically, match the colors on your servo wire.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  5. #5
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    27
    It's white and a lot smaller.

  6. #6
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Greatscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    N. Idaho... Da Sticks!
    Posts
    3,292
    Quote Originally Posted by chrysigon View Post
    It's white and a lot smaller.
    That is about the smallest connector that is common on RCs...
    The best thing to do is to give us a pic of what you have and we'll walk you through it (lights and connector).

    A pic of your receiver would be helpful too.
    Submarine Qualified, Chief Inducted, Navy Retired

  7. #7
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,280
    Like this?


    It may still slide on. The pin spacing is pretty standard...
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  8. #8
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    27
    That's the one. But it's wider than the slot which is too narrow to accommodate the plug. For some reason, I can't seem to post any pics.

  9. #9
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,280
    First, the picture needs to be uploaded to a web host; like photobucket, flicker, or even a locked folder on facebook (like I do). Then after it is uploaded; you view the picture online, right click, and select "copy image location". At this point you come back to the forum and select the third icon from the right; the one that says "image" when you hover over it, and paste your image location into the box in the popup, then click "ok". Then the picture will be shown like this:



    More information:
    http://traxxas.com/forums/showthread...sting-Tutorial
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  10. #10
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Greatscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    N. Idaho... Da Sticks!
    Posts
    3,292
    If you have a smart phone, you can post pics through Tapatalk, just have to have a tapatalk account.
    Submarine Qualified, Chief Inducted, Navy Retired

  11. #11
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    27


    Last edited by chrysigon; 03-23-2014 at 11:40 PM.

  12. #12
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Greatscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    N. Idaho... Da Sticks!
    Posts
    3,292
    You need to find a way to conver it over to a J plug. You might be able to find an adapter at your LHS. If it were me, I'd cut the end off and solder a J plug on (stuff like this is why I keep old burnt out servos).

    Just curious, can we get a pic of the lights this plug is attached to?
    Submarine Qualified, Chief Inducted, Navy Retired

  13. #13
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    2,014
    Ya, i wouldnt splice into servo or EVX wires cause that could mess with the responses or the lights. best thing is to order a jst or rx plug and put that on the lead. that looks like a mini-tamyia plug.

    u have a LHS around, they should stock em.

    cut off a old servo wire?
    Doublethink: 2+2=4 while 2+2=0

  14. #14
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,280
    All the power on the receiver is in parallel anyway... so giving the lights there own connector is going to have the same effect as splicing them in.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  15. #15
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    27
    These are the lights from Integy.


  16. #16
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,280
    Are they designed to run straight off from a 2S pack?
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  17. #17
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Greatscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    N. Idaho... Da Sticks!
    Posts
    3,292
    Quote Originally Posted by Jimmie Neutron View Post
    Are they designed to run straight off from a 2S pack?
    Integy's website is almost as useful as their tech support...

    Here is the link:
    https://www.integy.com/st_prod.html?...ratesortby=New

    I am pretty sure they are made to be ran off of a controller like this (the plug is right):
    http://www.integy.com/st_prod.html?p...889&p_catid=44

    The question is if the lights have a resistor connected to each one, I am guessing no. If this is the case, they'll work at first, then they will shortly burn out. The LED can't handle full current load, a resistor in parallel with the LED takes a good portion of it.
    Submarine Qualified, Chief Inducted, Navy Retired

  18. #18
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,280
    It also depends on how they are wired... if they are 3v LED's and each pair is wired in series (with 2 sets in parallel) 6V is fine. But, if they are ~2v LED's all wired in series, a 2S pack would be fine.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  19. #19
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    27
    I've already opened a ticket with the Integy tech support but so far no answer.

    The red wires all connect to one red wire as do the black wires. I think this is parallel. I could splice a resistor into the red wire as a safeguard. What is the voltage output of the old 2215 receiver?

  20. #20
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,280
    The voltage output is determined by the ESC or BEC, not the receiver.

    It is going to be hard to tell what resistor(s) you need without knowing the parameters of LED's.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  21. #21
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    27
    Sounds like I'm fighting a losing battle.

  22. #22
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Greatscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    N. Idaho... Da Sticks!
    Posts
    3,292
    Quote Originally Posted by chrysigon View Post
    Sounds like I'm fighting a losing battle.
    Not really. This product looks like it is designed to be part of an LED system, if Integy's site was worth a darn, it would have told you that there was more to buy to make the product work properly. You can get one of these boxes, with a whole mess of LEDs for $24. But, recommend doing more research before you buy and if you are in doubt, post the product up and ask if it can be ran with your truck

    But, roof lights on any RC that goes fast and is prone to rolling really is not a good idea. Chances are you'll destroy the lights in the first pack or two. You really want bumper mounted lights, they are more protected. If you are going to go for roof mounted light, you want something like the Summit has, where it protects the light bar.
    Submarine Qualified, Chief Inducted, Navy Retired

  23. #23
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom of England land.
    Posts
    1,777
    The connectors are JST-PHR-2 Click.
    There used for plugging into an led control box, Can you tell if there is a small resistor connecting wire to the LED leg.
    Guide books aren't part of the packaging.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •