RC Qualifier

Gearing Question (again, lol)

Yes, yes, I know there have been lots of threads about gearing. But I have one question.
    I just found a 28t 48p pinion gear. Right now I'm running the cc sidewinder SCT 3800kv on 2s geared at 23/86 my temps are usually around 80 to 90 degF and on 3s it's crazy (in a fun way) today I hit 37mph. but the temps get to 130 degF or so. At what temp should I be concerned at? And would I be able to run 28/86? On 2s or will the motor run to hot? I'm still not a pro at gearing so, I wanted to check before I do anything.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

RC Qualifier
    Anything under 160 is fine.
    160-180 is acceptable for short periods.
    Over 180 start worrying.

I ran that same motor with a 35/83 combo for extended periods of time with no issues. Of course the Slash was going like 40MPH continuously so there was some airflow...

RC Qualifier
    Wow, 35/83 that's insane! Ok I always have my temp gun ready, even when I know it will run fine. Anyways so I guess 28/86 is nothing, compared to what you have run

RC Qualifier
    i don't allow mine to go beyond 165
    Let's Get Dangerous - "DWD"

RC Champion
    So far I have found the 28/83 to be near ideal. Keep in mind that the air temp has been around 40deg. I contacted CC about a few concerns and a guy by the name Daniel replied. He stated that Neu Castle 4 pole motors are good till 200deg. Advised to try to shoot for 180 or less to be safe. Keep your temp gun close and you will be fine.
    Got my boots on. Its getting deep!

RC Qualifier
    Yes the air temps also have a lot to do with gearing, so what kind of speeds are you getting with that gearing?

RC Champion
    I have no idea. But on 2s its fast enough. 3s is just silly. I cant do anything but dig ditches with 3s. Keep in mind I am not running a Stock Chassis. I am much lighter than stock.

RC Qualifier
    What chassis? LCG?

RC Champion
    Its the Chuckworks Slice Db. LCG.