Results 1 to 26 of 26
  1. #1
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    lorton, va
    Posts
    76

    The 2400 out of the drag car

    Looking to put the 2400 castle creations motor in my slash. I see it works with the stock esc.
    My question is
    Does it bolt right up?
    Is it water proof?

  2. #2
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Mainah
    Posts
    285
    Yup and
    Yup!
    Slash 4x4
    Summit

  3. #3
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    lorton, va
    Posts
    76
    Awesome I'll be ordering one!

  4. #4
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    131
    I have the traxxas funny car 2400kv motor and hobbywing sc8 esc on there way.

  5. #5
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Land o' flat.....
    Posts
    1,077
    But it is very slow on 2S, I was told by Castle that it was designed to be used with 3S.

  6. #6
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    398
    It won't work with the stock VXL esc. A guy on here has done it on 2s only but its not suggested at all.
    Slash 4x4 MMP/2800kv

    Slash 4x4 LGC MM2/2650kv

  7. #7
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. mwe-maxxowner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    pageland, sc(south of monroe)
    Posts
    3,813
    Why does it not work with the vxl esc?
    460, straightpipes, buried throttle, nuff said :D

  8. #8
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    the giant boot. Anybody?
    Posts
    2,727
    The VXL esc is designed to run a 2 pole motor. It is possible to run the 4 pole castle motor with it but it will not perform well and will cause the motor and esc to get hot quicker. Remember guy's that brushless motor's are NOT waterproof. They can be run in water but you really do need to clean them to keep from forming rust and debris getting trapped in the stator. Just a thought. You can get the traxxas ets-3 esc that come's in the funny car, they run about $50-$60. The esc out of the Losi stce is a rebadged MMP from castle and I just picked one up for $45 to my door.
    *Proud Husband of United state's Air Force wife.*

  9. #9
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. mwe-maxxowner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    pageland, sc(south of monroe)
    Posts
    3,813
    Oh yes I forgot about the 2pole vs 4pole thing. Dollarhobbyz has great prices on the funny car 2400, the losi 2800, and the losi version MMP, for anyone interested. The et3s is 3s max, the losi MMP is 4s max.
    460, straightpipes, buried throttle, nuff said :D

  10. #10
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Minneapolis MN
    Posts
    66
    I ran mine for a few months on 2s and 3s, it did great with no issues at all. Way more torque than the stock stuff.


  11. #11
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Land o' flat.....
    Posts
    1,077
    Get the 2400kv motor and the MM2 ESC on 3S.

  12. #12
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    lorton, va
    Posts
    76
    now with the 2400 motor do i need to get a motor mount?

  13. #13
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. O.G.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    South of St Louis
    Posts
    5,986
    I have the losi 2800kv motor and its a great motor on 3s.
    My Black & Blue Rally is faster than your color...

  14. #14
    Traxxas Employee
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    ft worth, tx
    Posts
    277
    i run the vxl-3s and 2400kv motor in a telluride and it does not get hot................ but the esc has a "rev" limiter and the motor doesnt run to full capacity.

    and i run it on 2s in the telly
    slash 4x4 lcg, telluride(modded), TCP........and other things

  15. #15
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    173
    Quote Originally Posted by camaroloverx4 View Post
    now with the 2400 motor do i need to get a motor mount?
    Technically no, but is highly recommended...king headz, strc, golden horizons

  16. #16
    Traxxas Employee
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    ft worth, tx
    Posts
    277
    Quote Originally Posted by camaroloverx4 View Post
    now with the 2400 motor do i need to get a motor mount?
    nope it mounts just fine to the stock parts
    slash 4x4 lcg, telluride(modded), TCP........and other things

  17. #17
    Traxxas Employee
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    ft worth, tx
    Posts
    277
    heres the setup in my telly

    slash 4x4 lcg, telluride(modded), TCP........and other things

  18. #18
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    lorton, va
    Posts
    76
    so can i run the et-3s out of the drag car as well? or that only runs on 3s lipo and the mm2 can run on 4s?

  19. #19
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    173
    Quote Originally Posted by camaroloverx4 View Post
    so can i run the et-3s out of the drag car as well? or that only runs on 3s lipo and the mm2 can run on 4s?
    Yes the et-3s will work as it is a rebranded mmp with different firmware but 3s max, 3s is plenty, 4s is insane!!

  20. #20
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. O.G.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    South of St Louis
    Posts
    5,986
    The MMP is good for up to 6s power... not that I'd go to 6s with mine because they may not hold up long.

    You can also gear these bigger motors to the moon so they can be fairly fast on 3s.
    My Black & Blue Rally is faster than your color...

  21. #21
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    lorton, va
    Posts
    76
    ok i went ahead and laid on the cash for the MMP
    thanks to all of you

  22. #22
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Land o' flat.....
    Posts
    1,077
    Please delete, didn't mean to hit the button to post.
    Last edited by summitbasher240; 01-12-2014 at 08:55 AM.

  23. #23
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    173
    Quote Originally Posted by camaroloverx4 View Post
    ok i went ahead and laid on the cash for the MMP
    thanks to all of you
    It works but not to full potential, plus he says he got the mmp anyway.

  24. #24
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. mwe-maxxowner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    pageland, sc(south of monroe)
    Posts
    3,813
    Be sure to post us up some opinions after you run it a little!
    460, straightpipes, buried throttle, nuff said :D

  25. #25
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. El Sob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    El Sobrante, Ca
    Posts
    7,600
    Quote Originally Posted by nixhex32 View Post
    heres the setup in my telly

    That looks good! Do you have any videos of it running? I may do that to my Ultimate Edition! my motor is doing fine but I am always looking for more power.
    Slash Ultimate, ET-3S, 2400, MIP, King Headz, RPM

  26. #26
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. mwe-maxxowner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    pageland, sc(south of monroe)
    Posts
    3,813
    Quote Originally Posted by El Sob View Post
    That looks good! Do you have any videos of it running? I may do that to my Ultimate Edition! my motor is doing fine but I am always looking for more power.
    If the rev limiter won't let you get the most out of the motor, would it be much better than the 3500? I guess it still has gobs more torque. I tightenedmy slipper and I'm honestly pretty pleased with the 3500 on 3s. It'll blow the tires off up to half speed, even with my 2.8s!
    460, straightpipes, buried throttle, nuff said :D

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •