Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. mwe-maxxowner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    pageland, sc(south of monroe)
    Posts
    3,995

    Voltage telemetry

    I use a cheap voltage meter with built in alarm for my lipos on a couple of my escs. Problem is these things don't take much of a beating. I've had the beeper become unsoldered so that it didn't work unless you looked at it twice.

    Is the voltage telemetry sensor reliable and accurate enough to monitor lipo voltages safely?
    460, straightpipes, buried throttle, nuff said :D

  2. #2
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Anchorage, Ak.
    Posts
    24

    Voltage telemetry

    It is for me so far. And I beat my rustler to the point the LHS guys wonder how it's still in one piece.

    Please watch the *s in your posts.
    ksb51rl
    Last edited by ksb51rl; 11-02-2013 at 07:11 PM.
    Time to run the Rustler

  3. #3
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    239
    I have em on both Summit and ERBE and use it to tell me when I've run down to storage level voltage on my LiPos. Basically it's just a wire running from the battery plug to the receiver and the receiver transmits the data to the TQi. Nothing to break or solder.

  4. #4
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. mwe-maxxowner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    pageland, sc(south of monroe)
    Posts
    3,995
    So could I create one with an old servo lead?
    460, straightpipes, buried throttle, nuff said :D

  5. #5
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    239
    Not entirely sure, but looking the way its wired, the voltage power tap hooks to a connector on the temperature sensor which plugs into the V/T plug. You could try direct wiring and seeing if it will read without the temperature sensor. Personally, its just simpler to buy the two parts ... temperature sensor and voltage tap. If you try, let us know if it works.

  6. #6
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. mwe-maxxowner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    pageland, sc(south of monroe)
    Posts
    3,995
    Yeah, but I hate paying as much shipping as I pay for a cheap part when I have to order something like that, which is the only reason I'd attempt it. Could anyone snap me a picture or two of the sensor wires?
    460, straightpipes, buried throttle, nuff said :D

  7. #7
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    239
    Temp and Voltage sensor $12

    http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...SOR+&search=Go

    Voltage sensor power tap $6

    http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXBXUB&P=M

    But you'll need the docking base and a 2nd - 4th generation iPod or iPhone 3-5 with Traxxas link app to get this to work. So it is quite expensive overall.

  8. #8
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. mwe-maxxowner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    pageland, sc(south of monroe)
    Posts
    3,995
    I already have the docking base and an old iPod touch, so that part's covered!
    460, straightpipes, buried throttle, nuff said :D

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •