Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Burbank, IL
    Posts
    95

    TQi antenna under body

    I know some people have looped the antenna around so that it doesn't stick out of the body. Can someone who did this take a photo of how they have it set up and put it on here. I just got the TQi (to replace the stock TQ radio) and the end of the antenna with the fiber optic bit and the metal piece under that would still partially stick up, I'd like to get it all under the body.

    I know not to cut the fiber optic part or crimp it (accidentally did that to the TQ and killed a ton of range)

    Thanks

  2. #2
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    74
    I just recently replaced my 27mhz with a TQi in my mini Summit. Sorry no pictures but I just left the extra antenna wire in the receiver box and have very little sticking out (less than 2 inches). That is more than short enough to stay under the body. I run only a roll-cage and it stays under that. Also my reception is still further than I need. It was kinda a pain to get it to fit all in the receiver box though!
    Start with a stick pack and work your way up, kid

  3. #3
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Burbank, IL
    Posts
    95
    All I have in the antenna slot (the hole on the receiver box) is the metal piece with the fiber optic coming out and that alone sticks out of the body

  4. #4
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    47
    Well, my merv's antenna is WAY high, and it is starting to destroy the rubber around the wire! I have 27 MHz. Will it still get good range if I stick most of it in the receiver box?
    Last edited by lando calrician; 09-13-2013 at 08:11 PM. Reason: Spelling

  5. #5
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    11,960
    No, you will not.
    AM needs to have that whip as high as possible.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  6. #6
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    47
    Well, can I protect it with something? Or will I have to upgrade to 2.4 MHz ?

  7. #7
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    11,960
    Electrical tape and fuel tubing is what I used back in the day.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  8. #8

  9. #9
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    11,960
    Yes... that is it.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  10. #10
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    445
    Upgrade to 2.4 you wont be sorry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •