Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 94

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    778

    TRAXXAS..... The slowest name in servers

    is it just me or is it super annoying that the traxxas forums and sites are usually slow and unreliable?

    why does the site act slow the majority of the time, or just plain offline for good portion of the day?

    slowness is almost daily and offline happens weekly. are the servers constantly being updated or backing up during normal operation hrs?

    youd think with how big Traxxas is that theyd have a decent servr setup able to meet their requirements.


    anyone else fedup with Traxxas site "brown outs"?
    To SUMMIT up, its my coolest RC.

  2. #2
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    muscoda, wi
    Posts
    1,245
    Due to the fact that i spend way to much time online (traxxas, ebay). Sometimes i'm glad traxxas goes down for maintenance, lol. Otherwise traxxas site runs flawless for me.
    no offence to that k.
    I'm not krazy. My mother had me tested.

  3. #3
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    778
    Not I, Why you would be "glad" not to be able to access the content your trying to get to.

    If you don't to be on a site. Dont go to it LoL.

    Really sucks when you in rebuild mode and want some info/advice on anything.



    Worst part is how regularly it happens. I should start keeping a closer eye on it and just make myself a schedule, Haha.
    To SUMMIT up, its my coolest RC.

  4. #4
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    400
    I have never had a problem before yesterday. It's been out about 24 hours for me but it's obviously working now.

  5. #5
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    778
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff_G View Post
    I have never had a problem before yesterday. It's been out about 24 hours for me but it's obviously working now.
    Seriously?????

    I have had this issue for MONTHS. Its only when I`m on Traxxas.com
    All other net usage is normal.

    And Yes, Obvisouly. This was just the last straw that made me complian about it.

    I have friends on this forum whom I`ve spoken to about this issue with too and they concur.

    Can ANYBODY please confirm that they too have had issues on other occasions?
    To SUMMIT up, its my coolest RC.

  6. #6
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    muscoda, wi
    Posts
    1,245
    It must be running ok for you now. Dont worry i have lost my patiance somedays on the computer. Then the computer goes off, and the rc's turn on. Peace
    I'm not krazy. My mother had me tested.

  7. #7
    Marshal ksb51rl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Northern NJ
    Posts
    15,722
    Yes there have been outages. Now go drive your vehicle(s).
    Alt-248 on the number pad =

  8. #8
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. humayrayakongkinaon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, California
    Posts
    6,599
    to some of us this is the excuse to go out there an run your RC.

  9. #9
    Marshal Dadx2mj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    21,259
    Northern Adventurer over the years I have been here this forum has had more than it's share of problems and issue. However when I look at your join date and up till now the forum has been running very good IMO. Last night and early this morning there did appear to be some issues but they appear to have gone away and it is running normally now, at least for me it is. I am wondering if the problem is not on your end. I think this may be so because like I said for the period of tiem you have been a member here the forum has been running very well.
    BlindMan Racing
    Rusty - MERV - Pede 4x4-Alias
    SPC Lipo Power

  10. #10
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    1,171
    Other than last night I have no issues with the forum and I'm on it alot during the day

  11. #11
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    733
    same here up until yesterday no real issue with it sometimes a little slow on login once in awhile but other then that it has ran good for me as well....
    Let's Go Steelers!!!... KCCO

  12. #12
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Land o' flat.....
    Posts
    1,102
    Sometimes I find it hard to load some Traxxas pages, I usually think it has more to do with the amount of members trying to use it. I too have had problems, but I just find something else to do for awhile. I experienced trouble yesterday as well. But when there's 153,000 + members there will be slow times. It's funny, people want better Traxxas product, better Traxxas servers, better Traxxas ______, but Traxxas can only do so much. I think Traxxas has one of the BETTER forums, if not the best. Check out Tekin's forum, there's not many members there, only 138.

    But that's just my $0.02, ok rant is over.
    Last edited by summitbasher240; 06-26-2013 at 12:06 AM.
    Slash MT, 1/10 Summit.

  13. #13
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    778
    Quote Originally Posted by humayrayakongkinaon View Post
    to some of us this is the excuse to go out there an run your RC.
    I never need an excuse... Its called getting off work LoL

    Quote Originally Posted by Dadx2mj View Post
    Northern Adventurer over the years I have been here this forum has had more than it's share of problems and issue. However when I look at your join date and up till now the forum has been running very good IMO. Last night and early this morning there did appear to be some issues but they appear to have gone away and it is running normally now, at least for me it is. I am wondering if the problem is not on your end. I think this may be so because like I said for the period of tiem you have been a member here the forum has been running very well.
    Problem is not on my end lol. All other internet activity is fine, up to 20 mb/s on torrents Plus this is on 3 pcs in different building ive experienced this with. not my side.

    Traxxas` server is just too slow for the demand we put on it. Im just simply pointing it out and calling for an upgrade.

    Quote Originally Posted by summitbasher240 View Post
    Sometimes I find it hard to load some Traxxas pages, I usually think it has more to do with the amount of members trying to use it. I too have had problems, but I just find something else to do for awhile. I experienced trouble yesterday as well. But when there's 153,000 + members there will be slow times. It's funny, people want better Traxxas product, better Traxxas servers, better Traxxas ______, but Traxxas can only do so much. I think Traxxas has one of the BETTER forums, if not the best. Check out Tekin's forum, there's not many members there, only 138.

    But that's just my $0.02, ok rant is over.
    I agree its because of too many members. But they should just get a better server or internet connection to help with that.
    To SUMMIT up, its my coolest RC.

  14. #14
    Marshal Dadx2mj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    21,259
    Traxxas` server is just too slow for the demand we put on it.
    I respectfully disagree. When the site has issues there is something wrong with the software or an upgrade or some thing the IT guys can put their finger on and fix. When it is up and running like it is now the server is plenty fast enough and able to handle the load we put on it.
    BlindMan Racing
    Rusty - MERV - Pede 4x4-Alias
    SPC Lipo Power

  15. #15
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    778
    Quote Originally Posted by Dadx2mj View Post
    When it is up and running
    This is key, of course when its up n running its usually fine.

    The issue is the amount of times pages just dont load or takes minutes to load... or when the site is straight down. Both product pages and forum sites are both affected.

    For me its only ever traxxas.com pages, As Ive said ALL other net use is normal.

    Being straight offline has occured for me a minimum of once a month since I`ve joined.
    To SUMMIT up, its my coolest RC.

  16. #16
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    469
    this site has not giving me problems. Your guy's ISP DNS servers might be slow or down...

  17. #17
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    778
    Quote Originally Posted by 2010 View Post
    this site has not giving me problems. Your guy's ISP DNS servers might be slow or down...
    Not sure what some people dont understand about:

    Quote Originally Posted by Northern Adventurer View Post
    Its only when I`m on Traxxas.com. All other net usage is normal.
    Quote Originally Posted by Northern Adventurer View Post
    Problem is not on my end lol. All other internet activity is fine, up to 20 mb/s on torrents Plus this is on 3 pcs in different building ive experienced this with. not my side.
    Ive tested the internet on 3 pcs in 3 different locations, all are FINE excpet for Traxxas.com during these brown outs. Speedtest.net testing also. Speeds and traffic are fine.

    Im a Network Engineer, I know my internet is fine. Its the Traxxas sites/servers.

    Next time its down I`ll do some trace routes to find out where EXACTLY which hop is giving the issue.

    Then do some screen shots and send it to the webmaster here. Maybe they will help Traxxas sort out their problems.
    To SUMMIT up, its my coolest RC.

  18. #18
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    778
    So funny all these traxxas fan boys wanna do is defend their site saying "Nice excuse to go drive"

    The engineer in me would rather look for a solution.

    Trying to help by giving honest feedback is all.
    To SUMMIT up, its my coolest RC.

  19. #19
    Marshal ksb51rl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Northern NJ
    Posts
    15,722
    Okay, thanks. I'm sure Traxxas has seen it. Thing is, it's really not that big of a deal. Since there is nothing else anyone can do, I think we've just decided to let Traxxas take care of their own. Besides, nobody died, bled, or developed a hangnail. Let it go. Drive your vehicle(s.) Have fun. Don't worry, be happy.
    Alt-248 on the number pad =

  20. #20
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    778
    I`d Have to say I'm happy I have not had any issues since this last crash, even moving to the new host was seamless.

    Seems like Traxxas listened and made a good fix

    Now if you could only hear my diff/axle rants... LoL
    To SUMMIT up, its my coolest RC.

  21. #21
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Greatscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    N. Idaho... Da Sticks!
    Posts
    3,337
    WOW!!!

    Don't know what is going on in Traxxas Server Land, but Traxxas' main site and the forums are terribly slow on IE. It is taking almost a full minute to move between forums and to open up threads. Anyone else seeing this?
    Submarine Qualified, Chief Inducted, Navy Retired

  22. #22
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Cameron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    3,604
    Been a terribly slow reacting day for me as well. Thought it may have just been the work computer.

    Sent from my phone to you. #KCCO
    Last edited by Cameron; 08-30-2013 at 01:25 PM.
    (RAH) (AH) + [ROMA (1+MA)] + (GA) + (OOH)(LA)

  23. #23
    Marshal ksb51rl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Northern NJ
    Posts
    15,722
    There has not been a problem for me today.

    Edit: just had a couple small hiccups - like 5-second delays. These were just two isolated incidents.
    Last edited by ksb51rl; 08-30-2013 at 02:21 PM.
    Alt-248 on the number pad =

  24. #24
    Marshal Dadx2mj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    21,259
    It has been running pretty slow for me almost all day, been a few times it seemed to b e running normally but overall pretty slow for me today.
    BlindMan Racing
    Rusty - MERV - Pede 4x4-Alias
    SPC Lipo Power

  25. #25
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Cameron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    3,604
    Seems fine on Firefox at home, but it was wicked slow in IE today at work.
    (RAH) (AH) + [ROMA (1+MA)] + (GA) + (OOH)(LA)

  26. #26
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Greatscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    N. Idaho... Da Sticks!
    Posts
    3,337
    Quote Originally Posted by Cameron View Post
    Seems fine on Firefox at home, but it was wicked slow in IE today at work.
    Safari is a bit faster than IE, but still his not happy with it. Tapatalk doesn't seem too pleased either.

    It is acting like it is trying to load in another script, but it is not supported by either browser.
    Submarine Qualified, Chief Inducted, Navy Retired

  27. #27
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    575
    I keep getting errors loading pages and it says server is down. It was just down for about 2 hrs.

  28. #28
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Gurley, Alabama
    Posts
    766
    I was beginning to think it was my computer.

  29. #29
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    400
    Unusable all day. First time I have been able to do anything.

  30. #30
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    78
    It has been slow for me all week. Today and yesterday it was worse.

  31. #31
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    400
    Took me 15 minutes to get to this thread and reply.

  32. #32
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    778
    That's too funny..... I decide to say something NICE about the server this time and it gets influenza, or hep LoL

    I am now experiencing slowness too. On a mobile device (s3) it just kept reloading scrip for ever and wouldn't stop.

    Not sure if the new host is quite up to the task or not..... this is a HUGE site. But seemed fine since the switch for me. Maybe they are just doing maintenance
    To SUMMIT up, its my coolest RC.

  33. #33
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    308
    ever since the server switch, i see a TON of random websites flash by on the bottom of the screen in the status bar every time i load a page on the forum.

    i thought maybe it was my machine but i tried it at work and at my bro's house, same thing. every time a page loads, it generates a ton of clicks to other sites before the page finishes loading (none of which have anything to do with traxxas). i've also noticed that Ghostery is blocking a few new trackers as i surf the traxxas forums.

  34. #34
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Cameron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    3,604
    Yep I've noticed that script too

    Sent from my phone to you. #KCCO
    (RAH) (AH) + [ROMA (1+MA)] + (GA) + (OOH)(LA)

  35. #35
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Farmingville, NY
    Posts
    422
    when i first read the thread title.. my brain read servo not server... for me Traxxas' forums have been great since they switched servers....
    Traxxas please sell kits!

  36. #36
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    400
    Admins, can you please respond to this issue? I have been having significant issues trying to load this site and now I have noticed approximately 20 different sites "loading" while I wait for the first page to load. They go by so fast I can't read them all but I tried to catch a few.

    Facebook. com
    Googlejobs.com
    Jobless.com
    Add-click.com
    Pixel.com
    Downloadpicture.com
    Blogger.com
    RCPoster.com

    I also get error messages that "Several Jave Virtual Machines are running in the background" "Java Scripts are running and slowing down response". ETC

    I have tried three differnt PC's with different software and pretty close to the same performance.


    IS THIS SITE SAFE?
    Last edited by Jeff_G; 08-31-2013 at 09:56 PM.

  37. #37
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Greatscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    N. Idaho... Da Sticks!
    Posts
    3,337
    I think the site is still safe, but looking at it on Safari through Ghostery, it seems like Traxxas sold its soul to the data-miners:

    Here is what Ghostery says is trying to load with the forums:

    Ghostery found
    the following:
    AddThismore info
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/300/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/300/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/300/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    ContextWebmore info
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    Facebook Social ...more info
    http://www.facebook.com/plugins/lik...
    http://www.facebook.com/plugins/lik...
    http://www.facebook.com/plugins/lik...
    Google Adsensemore info
    http://pagead2.googlesyndication.co...
    http://pagead2.googlesyndication.co...
    http://pagead2.googlesyndication.co...
    http://pagead2.googlesyndication.co...
    http://pagead2.googlesyndication.co...
    http://pagead2.googlesyndication.co...
    http://pagead2.googlesyndication.co...
    http://pagead2.googlesyndication.co...
    http://pagead2.googlesyndication.co...
    Google Analyticsmore info
    http://www.google-analytics.com/ga.js
    InfoLinksmore info
    http://resources.infolinks.com/js/i...
    http://resources.infolinks.com/js/i...
    http://resources.infolinks.com/js/i...
    http://resources.infolinks.com/js/i...
    http://resources.infolinks.com/js/i...
    http://resources.infolinks.com/js/i...
    Whos.amung.usmore info
    http://widgets.amung.us/classic.js
    http://widgets.amung.us/classic.js
    http://widgets.amung.us/small.js
    http://widgets.amung.us/small.js
    http://widgets.amung.us/small.js
    http://widgets.amung.us/small.js
    http://widgets.amung.us/small.js
    http://widgets.amung.us/small.js


    I have opened up these forums on Safari before the big move and only saw one hit is Ghostery, and it was for Facebook, if memory serves. But now all of this junk is trying to load and track the usage of the forum users, it is why things are taking so long to load...

    Uncool Traxxas!
    Submarine Qualified, Chief Inducted, Navy Retired

  38. #38
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Cameron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    3,604
    Quote Originally Posted by Greatscott View Post
    I think the site is still safe, but looking at it on Safari through Ghostery, it seems like Traxxas sold its soul to the data-miners:

    Here is what Ghostery says is trying to load with the forums:

    Ghostery found
    the following:
    AddThismore info
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/300/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/300/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/300/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    http://s7.addthis.com/js/250/addthi...
    ContextWebmore info
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    http://tag.contextweb.com/TagPublis...
    Facebook Social ...more info
    http://www.facebook.com/plugins/lik...
    http://www.facebook.com/plugins/lik...
    http://www.facebook.com/plugins/lik...
    Google Adsensemore info
    http://pagead2.googlesyndication.co...
    http://pagead2.googlesyndication.co...
    http://pagead2.googlesyndication.co...
    http://pagead2.googlesyndication.co...
    http://pagead2.googlesyndication.co...
    http://pagead2.googlesyndication.co...
    http://pagead2.googlesyndication.co...
    http://pagead2.googlesyndication.co...
    http://pagead2.googlesyndication.co...
    Google Analyticsmore info
    http://www.google-analytics.com/ga.js
    InfoLinksmore info
    http://resources.infolinks.com/js/i...
    http://resources.infolinks.com/js/i...
    http://resources.infolinks.com/js/i...
    http://resources.infolinks.com/js/i...
    http://resources.infolinks.com/js/i...
    http://resources.infolinks.com/js/i...
    Whos.amung.usmore info
    http://widgets.amung.us/classic.js
    http://widgets.amung.us/classic.js
    http://widgets.amung.us/small.js
    http://widgets.amung.us/small.js
    http://widgets.amung.us/small.js
    http://widgets.amung.us/small.js
    http://widgets.amung.us/small.js
    http://widgets.amung.us/small.js


    I have opened up these forums on Safari before the big move and only saw one hit is Ghostery, and it was for Facebook, if memory serves. But now all of this junk is trying to load and track the usage of the forum users, it is why things are taking so long to load...

    Uncool Traxxas!
    Very Uncool. Hope this gets looked at soon.

    Sent from my phone to you. #KCCO
    (RAH) (AH) + [ROMA (1+MA)] + (GA) + (OOH)(LA)

  39. #39
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Petertje60's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    7,313
    I hope cleaning this up is something on the "to do list after the move". If not, I'm gone. I'll check in a week or so.
    Nobody is born with experience

  40. #40
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    78
    After looking at the resources loaded by the page with chrome it looks like it is loading all of the jobless-jack.com page and another one by a name that got stared out. The jobless-jack and the other page is loaded as an iframe after the copyright notice at the bottom of the page. Since these pages are loaded in entirety some of the tracking stuff may be coming from them. There may be more but I did not take the time to look for them.

    The source code for the Traxxas website contains swear words.......Interesting.
    Last edited by NathanM; 09-01-2013 at 02:10 AM. Reason: Language

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •