RC Enthusiast

Im New To The E-Revo, Please Help With A Gearing And Heat Question

Hello, I Just Got A New E-Revo Brushless On Tuesday. Sold All My Nitro And Going To Electric. As Of Right Now My Setup Is This:

Two-2s 8000Mah 35C Onyx Lipo's
    18T Pinion 58T Spur
    40 Series Proline Road Rage Tires On The Desprado Rims.
    60WT Shock Oil

I Am Using My Ipod On MY Radio For Gauges <<< Love This BTW.
    I Set Everything In The Settings For The Right Gears And Tires. Stock Speed Was 36Mph With The 18/65Gearing.(Stock Gearing) Temps After 30 Min Or So Were About 140F.
    I Changed The Spur To The 58 Tooth And It Only Gained 4-5 Mph, My Slipper Is Pretty Tight. Temps After About 30 Min Of On The Throttle Quite A Bit Get To About 150-160F (160F) Was The Highest But It Did Drop Back Down. Going From The 65T To A 58T Seemed Like A Huge Jump But Not To Much Of A Speed Difference.

So My Question Is This. Running On Just 4s Im Looking For Around 45+MPH But I Don't Want To Burn Anything Up. (Over Heat It) What Gearing Would Be Safe. I Was Thinking. 20/58 ? I Do Not Run On Dirt Just Flat Smooth Surface, But I Still Want To Be Able To Drive It Around. Not Just A Few Speed Passes And Be Done, Also I Don't Want To Go 6S Right Now. I Think Over 55Mph And Your Asking For Trouble.

What Is The MAX Safe Temp ?

Is This Correct Speed's For The Gears Im Using ??? 18/58 = Goes 40 Mph

Will 20/58 Gearing Be Ok With Temps ?

Any Help Or Tips Is Greatly Appreciated. Thank You, Steve

Post #3 has a lot of good info in there...provided by 87 GN
    http://traxxas.com/forums/showthread...=1#post5250890

I run 20/54 on 6s with LST2 diff mod...hottest my temps get with heavy throttle around 66*C (150*F)
    Last edited by MITCH316; 06-08-2013 at 05:09 AM.
    Rock n Rolla !

18/54 is the supplied gearing, I would start there. Then maybe go up to 21/54 watching temps posted in link above..

Welcome to the DARKSIDE.....
    Would you go flip my truck back over??

RC Enthusiast