Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RC Competitor

Trencher tires gearing question...

Quick question everyone... I'm new to this hobby... About 3 month ago I purchased the stampede 4x4 vxl (with a 5800 mah 2s lipo) and since then I have clocked in about 5 hours of total run time... I know it's not a lot... The truck looks new except for some scratches here and there and I also replaced some broken parts... I recently ordered 2 pairs of trencher tires mounted on desperado rims... I was looking through the community posts and this one in particular caught my attention... So it looks like I will be buying the 9 tooth pinion gear... So now... My question... Will the speed and acceleration be affected by changing from the stock 11 to the 9? If so is it a drastic change? Like I said I'm new to all this and I'm learning as I go and as the parts break... That's how I'm getting to know the truck... Any info will be appreciated...
    Last edited by Sinuhe_0123; 05-06-2013 at 10:22 PM.

RC Qualifier
    Right now you are probably in the 25-30mph range and going to the 9 tooth and larger tires will put you around 22-27mph.

RC Competitor
    Alright thats what i thought... last question... so if i change to a 9 tooth pinion gear do i have to change the stock spur gear too or will the stock one work fine?

The stock should work fine. Another way to reduce gearing for larger tires, is to use a larger spur gear.
    The effect on the top speed changes according to the changes you make in the gearing.
    Going from a 11 to 9 pinion is 18% less, so your top speed will be 18% lower. For the spur gear it works opposite.
    Nobody is born with experience.

But taller tires raises the gearing, so an 11t pinion with stock tires may be equal to a 9t pinion on the tall Trenchers. That's why people tell you to gear down when going to a taller tire.

But I don't know how it works out math-wise.
    My Black & Blue Rally is faster than your color...

Quote Originally Posted by O.G. View Post