Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    12

    TQI w/ Hobbywing ESC goes full throttle when tuirned on?????

    Hey everyone,

    I have a perplexing issue. I just replaced the brushed electronics in my Slash 2wd with a brushless system. I went with a Hobbywing Xerun SCT Pro for the ESC and a Tacon 3650-540 for the motor.

    The problem I'm having is when I turn on the radio then the esc, the throttle goes full force! (actually I think it's going in reverse) I know it's something in the radio it's self because when I use my "other brand" radio it functions perfectly.

    Things I've tried:
    setting the throttle end points to defaults
    calibrating the radio throws (in the ESC)
    disabling the multi-function knob
    reverse throttle direction
    setting throttle sub trims
    and
    resetting EVERYTHING to factory defaults

    I'm at my wit's end with this!!! Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    ~Erik


    P.S. I do NOT have the iphone dock attachment.
    Last edited by erikdravn; 04-29-2013 at 06:16 PM. Reason: (eddited to correct typros)

  2. #2
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    11,955
    Are you turning on the radio and then the RC?
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  3. #3
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    12
    Yup. It's got to be a setting of some sort. I have 2 TQ radios and they both do the same. But as I mentioned, my other brand (which is a computer based radio with LCD so it's easier to program) works just fine. I'm stumped though.

  4. #4
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    11,955
    You've got me stumped.

    I wonder if it is a compatibility issue?
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  5. #5
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    12
    I suppose it could be. Never heard of anything like that before though. I'll keep trying to figure it out and let ya know what I find... if anything.

    ~Erik

    Quote Originally Posted by Jimmie Neutron View Post
    You've got me stumped.

    I wonder if it is a compatibility issue?

  6. #6
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    12
    Ok! Now I feel like a COMPLETE idiot!!!!

    I figured it out. I had the ESC plugged into the wrong channel. I was using CH1 (steering) and the second CH1 for the ESC). Not realizing on the Traxxas receiver there is 2 CH1's (I assume for the purpose of duel steering servos).

    The funny thing is.. I just watched a Youtube video about that very issue the other day (the CH connectors being different on various receivers and radio sets). Not having to do with anything related to what I am doing currently, but on aircraft receivers and such.

    Sleep... it is a good thing to get enough. Or you end up doing stupid stuff like this! Thanks for the assistance nonetheless Mr. Neutron.

    ~Erik
    Last edited by erikdravn; 04-30-2013 at 01:56 AM. Reason: typeos

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •