RC Racer

new tires/wheels glue wont hold

ok...i have glued 4 pairs of tires now with no issues and the 2 pairs of pre glued tires have no issues either...we have only been running 2s with 13t pinions so no crazy rpms or anything...this is my first time gluing bf goodrich s1 compound and they are on a set of the green/chrome traxxas wheels...for whatever reason the glue has not held at all...what did i do wrong?

Did you wash the wheels in warm soapy water before you applied the glue? You might need to rough up the bead on the wheel and tire to help the glue stick. What glue are you using?
    Slash Ultimate, ET-3S, 2400, MIP, King Headz, RPM

RC Enthusiast
    I'm not trying to change the trend but i was thinking about putting bead locks on my truck instead of gluing some tires my self what holds up better ?? and will the bead locks save me some cash in the long run?? with not having to buy pre glued tire an rim ....it get to b expensive

RC Champion
    I have noticed there are subtle differences in tires. Its as if some batches get more mold release than others. I would suggest dremeling the bead only slightly if possible. This is my standard procedure now for all tires and wheels. Im not removing mass amounts of rubber, only scuffing the surface. I do the rims to with hot soapy water and a piece of steel wool.
    Your glue may be old or possibly contaminated by something? Maybe thinking out loud but its a consideration.
    Good luck.

For EsTkenny:
    I have only run glued rims. Never had an issue with them once they are glued properly. My cousin is a die hard beadlock basher. I have driven his trucks before and see/feel no difference. Beadlocks are nice for bashers to change tires quickly and easily. If you love your burnouts like me...consider beadlocks.
    Rustler, Bandit, Summit, Emaxx, Rally, and Alias

RC Racer
    i am considering beadlocks also

i didn't wash the tires or anything...

thanks guys