Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Reverse Only?

  1. #1
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    20

    Reverse Only?

    So earlier today I was running a little bit, got stuck and had to reverse. Then it wouldn't come out of reverse for a minute. I picked it up off the ground and accelerated and while kinda reving a little high it kinda shifted hard to forward. Then all was fine. Next time I needed reverse it switched to reverse fine, then would no longer switch to forward no matter what I would do. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Marshal Double G's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Putting the wet stuff on the hot stuff
    Posts
    9,762
    Servo moving?
    The Super Derecho

  3. #3
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    187
    i know my t maxx was doing the same thing.. the idle was a little high and would not let it switch from forward to reverse

  4. #4
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    20
    Nothing moves when I switch reverse to forward or vice/versa. Is there any way if I can tell if its the switch on my controller or the servo that's the problem? It doesn't even switch with the engine not running.

  5. #5
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Burnt fork, Wyoming
    Posts
    66
    The channel that the reverse servo is plugs in to... unplug it and plug in a other servo aka the steering servo and disconnect the steering linkage then turn everything on when you flip the reveres switch and see if the steering servo moves. If it does not then it is the controller or the rx. If the steering moves then it is the reverse servo that is bad. Hope this helps.

  6. #6
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    20
    I'll give it a shot later when I get home. What is RX?

  7. #7
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Biggest Little City In The World
    Posts
    723
    TX = Transmitter aka controller. RX = receiver
    " You just got passed by a Traxxas"

  8. #8
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Norfolk, va
    Posts
    1,167
    Do all revos with reverse have the opti-drive module?
    Maybe his is bad or his idle is too high.
    ERBE, ERBE, Summit, Slash 4X4, Bandit,

  9. #9
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Biggest Little City In The World
    Posts
    723
    The Revo models that came with reverse install will have the optidrive. It is possible to have and use reverse w/o the optidrive module, you just have to be super careful because w/o optidrive it will shift at 25k rpm and that equals disaster.
    " You just got passed by a Traxxas"

  10. #10
    Marshal Double G's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Putting the wet stuff on the hot stuff
    Posts
    9,762
    Yes, and the T-Maxx too. You can remove it and still drive w/reverse but you won't have the protection of accidentally switching from forward to reverse and vise versa.
    The Super Derecho

  11. #11
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    20
    Oh cool, didn't know those acronyms haha. Anyway I switched the Servo plugs around and the TX switch is working fine. Looks like its a bad servo, unless its a bad spot in the Opti-Drive. Is that possible? I wouldn't think so if everything else is working besides reverse servo.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •