RC Enthusiast

keep breaking rear differential ring gear /even after shimming

Hi guys i have a summit with the mamba monster combo and 40 series rock crushers, i keep having issues with stripping the rear diff gear i have gone through 5 in like a month i have shimmed both the pinion and ring gear many times in diffrent ways but some of these gears only last 20 minutes before stripping or chipping a tooth, now i have all stock driveshafts and have never broke one, my front diff has raley had any issues and when it did it was just bearings ,i am getting very frustrated with this if anybody has any ideas on how to take care of this very annoying issue i would be greatful, thanks

RC Competitor
    I have the monster mamba in my summit, and I run 40 series Mudslingers. I was having diff issues and here's what I did. I set the punch control to 100% and turned the power down to 70%. Don't use crawler break, and I have reverse power set to 70%. This is what it took to keep mine together. It's still alot faster and more powerful than stock. Still way more fun to drive than stock.

NOTErized!

RC poster
    Have the same experience!

I also have a MM Combo in my Summit and also stripped my rear-Diff last week. The Funny thing is that I adjusted the punch control from 80% to 0%

So New Diff and Punch Control back on!!.

Also I will be packing between the Diff and Bulkhead out with Polymorph plastic on rebuild.

RC Enthusiast