RC poster

VXL 3s doesnt run right ??

Just got back into the electric stuff and bought this slash used with the VXL system. Im new to the lipo stuff so I had to buy battery's and charger and from what Ive read I seem to be doing all that correct. When I drive the truck I get about 5 min and then it cuts off. I have to walk over to truck and push the button again on ESC to turn it back on then it runs a while and does it again. After doing this a few times it will start to act like the battery wants to die and than loose all power for a few seconds than run fast again. What am I doing wrong or is it something Im over looking?

RC Qualifier
    Have the esc with the correct setting? "lipo cut off"
    2wd slash, PL LCG, CC 3800, Powerstrokes, S6040

Built Ford Tuff With Chevy Stuff.

RC Champion
    Quote Originally Posted by TheDonJuan View Post
    Have the esc with the correct setting? "lipo cut off"
    +1 this. Green on the ESC = GO for LiPo. If the light is still red on your ESC, press and hold the EZ-Set button for about 10 seconds, until the light stays green and an ascending tone is heard.

Also make sure that your LiPos are properly charged (4.2V per cell after charging).

Welcome to the forums.
    Make it idiot-proof and along comes a better idiot

RC poster
    Its set at green solid light. I checked my packs and there 4.19-4.20 per cell.
    Last edited by 188slo50; 03-14-2013 at 06:06 PM.

RC Champion
    Quote Originally Posted by 188slo50 View Post
    Its set at green solid light. Im charging a pack to see if I can see it tells me the volts per cell.
    The ESC won't tell you the volts per cell. Only a cell checker or multimeter will do that. Cell checker is $5-10 and is a wise investment.

Try removing the motor,then power it up and see if the motor is getting warm in your hand,or making any strange noises.
    I had one velineon 3500 do the same thing when it died due to overheating heating it to many times.