RC Qualifier

hard case? soft case? c rating?

what are the main differences between a hard case and a soft case lipo? also What is the lipo c rating for the higher the better right?
    The smartest person, asks the most questions...

RC Champion
    Hard case is that hard case, soft case is like cells are wrapped in a large piece of heat shrink tubing. I am a basher and have run just soft case lipos with NO problems. I think c rating is related to output or punch BUT I AM NO EXPERT ON C.

RC Qualifier
    okay thanks for the info....... could sure use more help about lipo c rating though
    The smartest person, asks the most questions...

RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    The C rating helps you calculate what amperage the pack is capable of... and is quite tricky because there are no industry standards for measuring C. Which means that if I wanted to rate my cell phone battery at 1.2million C I could... it would be a total lie, but I could. But, thankfully, there are brands out there that are honest about their C ratings... SPC and Traxxas just to name two.

To calculate the constant discharge rate of your pack
    mAh x minimum discharge C rate / 1,000 = available amps
    For example:
    The same 2200mah 20-40C pack.
    2,200 x 20 / 1000 = 44
    This battery pack can consistently provide up to 44 amps.

To calculate the peak/burst discharge rate of your pack
    mAh x maximum discharge C rate / 1,000 = available amps
    For example:
    Again, the same 2200mah 20-40C pack.
    2,200 x 40 / 1000 = 88
    This battery pack can provide a peak discharge rate of up to 88 amps.
    Peak rates are limited in time... unfortunately, this amount of time does not have an industry standard. This is how a lot of inflated discharge ratings can be claimed. In my experience, honest retailers/manufactures of packs will list the constant discharge rating along with the burst discharge rating and not only the burst rating.

Ratings