RC poster

Slipper clutch question?

Hi,
    Im new to the forum, Ive got a the 4x4 pede and recently just had to replace the slipper clutch and got the upgrade alloy pads instead of the fiberous pads. anyway Im fairly new to rc's and trying to get the slipper set right and have had some problems because the supplied spring was too small so I had to use the old spring. Now that I switched the spring back it seems to be working but my question is, when the slipper is set properly, should the truck still be pulling wheelies? I tightened the nut in all the way and little by little worked my way to backed off around 3/4-7/8 of a turn and it sounds like it slips and after moving about 6 inches will start to wheelie. At first it was just completely wheelieing over right away so i backed off until its like I said it goes about 6 inches on all fours and then starts pulling the front up and rides that somewhat mild wheelie for around 8-10 feet. not riding all the way back on the wheelie bar but just riding that wheelie probably about half way between flat and riding on the wheelie bar. Is this good or should i be lossening it until it doesnt wheelie? I love wheelies but i dont want to sheer off anymore of the little rods that hold my cvd's together. I have the mip x-duty cvd's and I had a couple of the small pin/rod's that connect the cvd's and the pivot points
    break and/or loosen and fall out. It took around 4-5 months for them to break so maybe that is normal wear and tear, I dont know. Just hoping to get an idea of how the slipper clutch should ideally be set? Thanks

RC Competitor
    Stock setting is a full turn from fully compressed. Seems most people run somewhere between 1/4 - 3/4 off fully compressed. I run at 3/4 off fully compressed and I can rarely pull wheelies on the stock tires (w/ 2s lipo). I would say 3/4 off fully compressed is safe, but my suggestion would be to check temperatures and make sure esc/motor temps are OK.