Hybrid View

RC poster

Emaxx Brushless questions

Greetings,
    I am new to the RC world...figured I would start with the best and purchased a used Emaxx brushless from a friend. Have been running it stock for a while and ready to upgrade- I have a few questions.
    1. What is the best Lipo battery for this rig...looking for a good mix between runtime and speed. (Not looking to go 70mph...but 50-55 and good run time is great.)
    2. Stock tires / wheels have started to wobble. I have taken all the tires off and looked at the hubs and they DO NOT seem to have any run out- these I feel the wobble is all in the tires or rims. What replacement is recommended?

Thanks
    Allan

RC Champion
    Quote Originally Posted by amoore View Post
    1. What is the best Lipo battery for this rig...looking for a good mix between runtime and speed. (Not looking to go 70mph...but 50-55 and good run time is great.)
    2. Stock tires / wheels have started to wobble. I have taken all the tires off and looked at the hubs and they DO NOT seem to have any run out- these I feel the wobble is all in the tires or rims. What replacement is recommended?
    Speeds in the 50-55 range require a 3S battery and fairly tall gearing (larger pinion). But understand that when you make these changes, we frequently start blowing out stock parts (tires, driveshafts, spur gears, slipper clutch, etc.) Upgrades can get expensive FAST.

The larger the mah of the battery, the longer your run times. I recommend a decent 2S battery (I run the Onyx 25C 5700 2S). That gets me a consistent 30 minutes.

As far as tires: I just upgraded to Axial 3.8 Monster Truck beadlock rims with ProLine 40 Series Trenchers. They're phenomenal. No ballooning whatsoever and they hook up beautifully on any terrain.

Welcome to the forums!
    Make it idiot-proof and along comes a better idiot

RC poster
    Thanks for the great info...do you have an online vendor you suggest for ordering?