RC Enthusiast

Aluminum Control Arms/Skid plates...worth it?

I won't post the link since this is a Traxxas site, but here is the description:

Silver Aluminum Revo 3.3 Complete Aluminum Skid Plate, Suspension Arm, and Guard Set. This set includes a full set of eight suspension arms, the front, center, rear, and transmission skid plates, as well as the fuel tank guard. This package offers excellent protection, strength, and great looks! This set allows you to outfit your truck all at once for one affordable price!

Would a kit like this be worth it? Does anyone have experience with any of these types of kits? Thanks!

Trev

RC poster
    I have no experience with that kit. My thoughts on the arms is that I want them to have some give (i.e., ability to bend to absorb the shock of impact from a curb or whatever). If they don't give, something else will. But nothing else on the suspension has that give. Something else is likely to break instead and will be harder to replace. Also, if aluminum arms give that means they bent; they don't bounce back. For bashing I would rather have the plastic. For show, though, it is whatever you desire..

RC Enthusiast
    Quote Originally Posted by badunit View Post
    I have no experience with that kit. My thoughts on the arms is that I want them to have some give (i.e., ability to bend to absorb the shock of impact from a curb or whatever). If they don't give, something else will. But nothing else on the suspension has that give. Something else is likely to break instead and will be harder to replace. Also, if aluminum arms give that means they bent; they don't bounce back. For bashing I would rather have the plastic. For show, though, it is whatever you desire..
    How about the skid plates mentioned?

Trev

RC Qualifier
    +1 badunit Aluminum A Arms will also snap like glass when cold. RPM A Arms are the way to go

i use a full Integy skid plate set up and like it.
    " You just got passed by a Traxxas"

RC Racer