RC poster

New Jato Owner - Having signal loss problem

Hey Guys,

I'm brand new to the Nitro world and also new to the world of technical forums. I purchased a brand new Jato 3.3 this weekend at the suggestion of some buddies who are really into this hobby. Did the break-in as suggested by Traxxas and followed all other Traxxas guidelines for a new vehicle.

Here's my problem - got through the initial 5 tanks for break-in and then a few more tanks of driving. Suddenly, I started having problems with loss of signal. No steering, no throttle, notta. Took the car in, replaced batteries, re-fueled, went back outside and ran for a few minutes, then once again... kaput. Notta. Turned everything on and off, tried again and the same problem. Seems to be totally intermittent and inconsistent. I'm running these things with a buddy who has been doing it for about 10 years and he's never seen the problem. Left me as a newbie and him as an experienced user totally dumb-founded. Of course, we suspect a faulty reciever, but has anyone else had this problem?

This is a completely stock vehicle with no upgrades.

Thanks for your help. Please let me know if there are any rules that I need to follow on this forum or if there are any issues with the way I've posted. Again, I'm a total newbie.

RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    What radio do you have?

RC Competitor
    Are you using double aas or packs? And are you using the mid position or rear position for reciever pack?
    Jato 3.3,Slayer pro

RC poster
    Thanks for the fast reply guys. It's the 2.4 ghz radio w/ 5 ch receiver and I'm using the rear position for reciever. Also, using AA's. Checked voltage on the first set of batteries which we suspected were dead and they were nowhere near. Swapped out with brand new ones anyway and had the same issue. Movement didn't slow down as you'd expect with typical dead batteries, just completely stopped. Then it'd work again, then it'd suddenly stop, then work, then stop, etc. Weird.

RC Competitor