RC Enthusiast

7 cell batts?work in 6cell esc?

i just got a novak system and didnt realize my 7 cell nimh batterys were too big for the new system... the manual for the esc says to never use more than a 6 cell nimh battery. whats the worst that can happen? why would a esc have a battery max? im itching to drive my new brushless get up but i dont want to ruin it at the same time. any suggestions or opinions would be grately appreciated. i am fairly new to the hobby so no big words plz :P

System in what? what is the esc?
    Built Ford Tuff With Chevy Stuff.

If it's a Novak and it says 6-cell limit, I wouldn't try to push the issue. The max voltage is mainly because it's a racing esc and 6-cell or 2S lipo is the max legal packs for 2wd 1/10th racing.

Not saying that's why they limit it. Just that they build them for optimum performance at that voltage. So going over that limit will likely burn the esc.
    Last edited by harry697; 02-05-2013 at 08:27 PM.

Is ROAR that **** about the rules? They told me I cant run my 3800 4pole it the 2wd class.
    Quote Originally Posted by harry697 View Post
    If it's a Novak and it says 6-cell limit, I wouldn't try to push the issue. The max voltage is mainly because it's a racing esc and 6-cell or 2S lipo is the max legal packs for 2wd 1/10th racing.

Not saying that's why they limit it. Just that they build them for optimum performance at that voltage. So going over that limit will likely burn the esc.

Quote Originally Posted by billy-bones View Post
    Is ROAR that **** about the rules? They told me I cant run my 3800 4pole it the 2wd class.