Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    90

    throttle dead spot

    as the title says i have some sort of dead spot when i hit full throttle. it like goes then hesitates and gets back on it, it all happens really quick. i have a red/black summit (let the color wars begin yet again lol) with the mamba 2200 and 2 2s 45c 5000 team Orion lipos. i thought it was the esc so i put the 2400 and mmp from my slash and put it in there and it did the same thing i also put the castle cap pack in to and still no change. any help would be nice

    thanks dan

  2. #2
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    303
    Hmm maybe your tx/ex is glitching? Is it the am or 2.4 radio? If am, it could be interfered by the mmm
    2wd Slash VXL
    3906 MMM

  3. #3
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    90
    i also picked up what my lhs called a glitch buster. a lil cap with two wires i plugged in the the rx. its the tqi rx/tx. it hasnt always donr this only the last month or so

  4. #4
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    303
    Well, then I think we can safely rule out glitching. I got no other ideas
    2wd Slash VXL
    3906 MMM

  5. #5
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    No... a glitch buster does not stop radio glitches.
    It helps reduce brown outs.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  6. #6
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    303
    What is a brown out?
    2wd Slash VXL
    3906 MMM

  7. #7
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    When the electronics (servos, mainly) try to pull too many amps from the receiver/BEC causing voltage to drop to unsafe levels... usually resulting in temporary loss of power.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  8. #8
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    90
    That's kinda what its doing. Browning out. What voltage should the bec be at on the mamba to stop that

    Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk 2

  9. #9
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    More voltage is not going to help anything. Your receiver is only capable of 6 volts. Your servos are probably only capable of 6 volts.
    The best way to stop this from happening is probably going to be one of the following:
    A) Bigger capacitor
    2) Stand alone BEC
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  10. #10
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    90
    Where would I get a stand alone bec. Thanks for ur help

    Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk 2

  11. #11
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    Most hobby places have them... Castle makes a good one too.

    But something is telling me that this is not the cause of the issue... if it is acting up at full throttle going in a straight line, it is probably not a brown out issue.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  12. #12
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Port orange, Florida
    Posts
    568
    Does it do it wherever you drive at, ie home, park or do you drive it in a certain area, like down a neighborhood street, it may be interference if so, all radios must accept interference, there's a couple spots on my street where mine does what your describing, it's like it loses power for a second then comes back on.


    Sent from my iPhone 5

  13. #13
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    90
    i guess im not sure where it happens mainly around my apt and the yard here. i dont have a whole lot of time to go far cause of my work schedule so any bashing i can get in is short lived. snookerd that exactly what it does


    "it's like it loses power for a second then comes back on."

  14. #14
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Port orange, Florida
    Posts
    568
    Probably interference from a garage door or a cordless phone, maybe a wireless router, all our radios must accept all interference per the FCC, try running in a different spot and see what happens, that it when u can. Good luck and god bless.


    Sent from my iPhone 5

  15. #15
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    90
    can i link a castle page with out getting in trouble on here

  16. #16
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    Yes, you can.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  17. #17
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    90
    http://www.castlecreations.com/downloads/frh-mamba.html

    they have a firm ware update im gonna try this to

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •