RC Racer

15t replacement motor?

My 8 y.o. son and I are both complete noobs to this but we love it. We have had the rustler for about 3 days now. I have read about 9 billion forums in that time and I still dont have a clear answer. I am not interested at all about going to brushless or changing any gears, batteries or ESC's ..its plenty fast for him right now. If he continues to like this hobby I will go that route but for now I just need a good motor. My question is What is a good brushed motor to replace the stock motor (which we all know doesn't last) in the rustler with? What size motor (17t, 18t,20t?) can I go to without changing gears, batteries, ESC's? We can handle a bit more speed or torque but nothing insane. Thanks in advance to everyone...any advice is greatly, greatly appreciated.

Best option I know of for perfromance to price ratio is the HPI Firebolt 15T. It's a 540 sized motor, so you may need to drop a tooth or three on the pinion, but they run strong and can be had for about $12.

Aside from that, a decent rebuildable 19 turn motor will out run the stock Titan and also last a lot longer and be fully rebuildable when it does start to wear.

The Reedy Radon 17 turn is also a pretty potent motor. Problem is, it's not rebuildable and they have a rep that might even be worse than the Titan for longevity.

RC Champion
    I don't no much about this motor , But I found this one on ebay . http://www.ebay.com/itm/Venom-Atomik...item53f37375f1
    1 Rusty VXL

RC Qualifier
    Welcome to the forum. +1 on the to the firebolt. Just make sure you do a good break in on any brushed motor.
    This hobby is great to share with your kids. Enjoy
    Summit, ERBE X2, 4pdes, 2pdes, etc lol

RC Champion
    Many people have found the Electrifly S-600 to be a great brushed motor to replace the Titan. It needs the wires etc from the Titan soldered on but it's supposed to be very durable and reliable and inexpensive from Tower hobbies.