Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    11

    hd slipper question

    How many of you guys use the hd slipper?

    I have a the rx8/2200 and changed the gearing to 18/58, and changed to a hd slipper. Followed the instructions on setting the clutch. Went to test it out, it wanted to go on its lid constantly. Adjusted it, readjusted, and still adjusted it. Finally found a spot that wouldnt wheely too badly. Only thing is the nut is almost off the shaft! Is this normal? The truck is way louder than stock!

    btw: Iam using the spring instead of the washers.

    Even at this setting iam hitting 41mph with my sgsII taped to the top of the truck!
    Last edited by romz26; 01-16-2013 at 12:38 AM.

  2. #2
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. jamann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Victoria B.C Canada
    Posts
    5,076
    Louder as in squealing?that may be the clutch screaming for mercy...lol. May need to tune down the esc a bit.Turn down current limiter. lower is less aggressive power at first.kind of a rolling on the throttle instead of a stomp it to the floor.it will take some shock load off the clutch and drivetrain.it helped me.
    Mine was set to not wheelie. tuned down and slipper setup still went fast, too fast really,just wasn't tearing up parts left and right.about 1/4 throttle it started really applying power


    Sent using lipo power
    Last edited by jamann; 01-16-2013 at 12:52 AM.
    Mountains cant stop me
    they have tried

  3. #3
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. humayrayakongkinaon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, California
    Posts
    6,243
    are you talking about the traxxas HD aluminum pads? i have it on too and the first run from half throttle to full, it went straight to its back lid. so i take it easy for a few packs and now i got the hang of it. still wheelie on demand. tame your esc if you like or easy off with the throttle.
    | Rally GT8 Powered By CC |

  4. #4
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    KC
    Posts
    310
    How does one tame the ESC?
    PM me for help converting your Summit to brushless

  5. #5
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. humayrayakongkinaon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, California
    Posts
    6,243
    Quote Originally Posted by satyrisci View Post
    How does one tame the ESC?
    thru your USB castle link or field link if you have the castle powerplant. he has the RX8 basically the same theory.
    stock ESC cant be tame lol, only sport, race, and training mode.
    Last edited by humayrayakongkinaon; 01-16-2013 at 08:07 PM.
    | Rally GT8 Powered By CC |

  6. #6
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    KC
    Posts
    310
    So just a programming card, for those that didn't spend the money on a castle?
    PM me for help converting your Summit to brushless

  7. #7
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. jamann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Victoria B.C Canada
    Posts
    5,076
    The rx8 can be tuned down without the tekin link.Do need it for custom cutoff settings.i recommend getting it for that and a couple other settings.


    Sent using lipo power
    Mountains cant stop me
    they have tried

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •