Hybrid View

RC poster

New to RC and LiPo - Need help!!

I just opened my new Summit as a complete newbie. It is the 5607L which came with two 5000 mah batteries. I bought an EZ Peak Plus to charge faster than stock wall chargers. I also bought the dual battery module. The problem I'm running into is that I am not an electrical engineer and the instructions are very difficult for me to understand. For example, how many amps do you set the charger to when charging. Is it the same for 2 batteries at once? What about the discharge feature? Can I use the discharge feature? If so, what are the proper settings? Is it okay to use the fast charge? Will the balance charge as fast as fast charge if I crank up the amps? (To 5, I think?). The instructions that came with the charger are vague or incomplete when it comes to these questions.

Anyway, if there's somewhere someone can point me for a layman's set of instructions it would be much appreciated.

RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Each battery can be charged at 5 amps. How to figure this out is explained below.

If charging two in parallel, you can double the charge rate to 10 amps. How to figure this is explained below.

You can discharge as fast as the charger you chose will allow.

I advise against fast charging. I always balance charge... it only takes a few minutes longer and is safer.

I know this is going to be a lot of info all at once, but take your time and go through it piece by piece.

I wrote this a while back... but most of it applies here too:

I apologize in advance for the length of this write up. However, I feel that it is important to have as much factual LiPo information as possible and to have it all in one location.
    That being said...

LiPo 101
    now in session

Rules
    1) NEVER discharge below 3v/cell
    2) NEVER charge above 4.2v/cell
    3) NEVER puncture your pack
    4) NEVER short out your pack
    5) NEVER use a pack that has puffed
    6) NEVER charge unattended