Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    5

    Servo install HELP!

    Trying to install one of the stock servos on the left side, but the wire is not long enough, what could i do? Sorry I'm new to RC. Dont know how to post pictures.

  2. #2
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Avon Lake, Ohio
    Posts
    14
    Did you route it the same way as the old one? The wires for the left steering servo and the servo for the front diff run between the shock mount and the trans to get over to the right side.

  3. #3
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    5
    Yea I did it exactly how they did it, but it just doesn't reach. If it were for the right side it would fit. its just not long enough for the left side.

  4. #4
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Avon Lake, Ohio
    Posts
    14
    Are the wires on the new servo shorter than the ones on the old one?

  5. #5
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Avon Lake, Ohio
    Posts
    14
    I did a quick google search, other people have had this problem too, they said the servos come with 2 different length pigtails. Where did you get the servo from?

  6. #6
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    5
    yea the wires are shorter on the new one, i got the servo off eBay, it only came with the one. ill double check though.

  7. #7
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. jamann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Victoria B.C Canada
    Posts
    5,229
    One option...is get a servo extension not expensive.Or if you are handy could extend the wire,Using the wire from the dead servo.



    Sent using lipo power
    Mountains cant stop me
    they have tried

  8. #8
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Avon Lake, Ohio
    Posts
    14
    You will have too either get another servo and hope its the right one, unless you can actually match it up which you can't do on ebay or you could get a servo extension harness to lengthen it. I think a futaba extension will work.

  9. #9
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    5
    how would you extend the old wire on the new one?

  10. #10
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    5
    fixed it, i just went under the motor instead!

  11. #11
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Avon Lake, Ohio
    Posts
    14
    You would have to solder wire from the old servo onto the new one to get the length you need. The pre made servo extension would just plug in between the receiver and the servo.

  12. #12
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    162
    Quote Originally Posted by frazer2000 View Post
    fixed it, i just went under the motor instead!
    Well done sir.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2

  13. #13
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chehalis, Wa
    Posts
    436
    You could have taken the other serves out and seen if their was a longer one that didn't need to be long.
    _______^_
    /______l__\____
    l_l O l_____l O l

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •