Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    989

    Range issue bugging me

    I took the summit out earlier on its maiden voyage and had some fun with the dog, only problem was the range was barely half of my other 2.4 ghz traxxas.. anything i can do to fix that?

    Here's the only two pics I took, This thing just tackles the bush too, I should have brought my older daughter to take videos






    What's a coffee if it aint Irish

  2. #2
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chehalis, Wa
    Posts
    436
    Check your RX antenna and make sure it set right. I had a similar issue and I ended up funding out that I was missing about. Inch of the antenna
    http://traxxas.com/forums/showthread...-What-did-i-do
    _______^_
    /______l__\____
    l_l O l_____l O l

  3. #3
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles / South Bay
    Posts
    445
    What Keila said, I extended my RX antenna by about an inch or so with a longer ant tube and worked wonders. As a free test try removing the end cap and pulling out the wire a little or could be your tx batts.

  4. #4
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    989
    Alright I'll try that tomorrow and charge the batteries back up a bit but they were fresh energizers.

    I'll check that thread out too
    What's a coffee if it aint Irish

  5. #5
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    207
    Quote Originally Posted by TQi View Post
    Alright I'll try that tomorrow and charge the batteries back up a bit but they were fresh energizers.

    I'll check that thread out too
    Where did you get the light bar from? Thats awesome. Any link to advise on installing them as well?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

  6. #6
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Cameron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    3,604
    Traxxas # TRX5684 is the roof 4 pot LED light bar. Crazy easy install.
    (RAH) (AH) + [ROMA (1+MA)] + (GA) + (OOH)(LA)

  7. #7
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    989
    Yeah they're like $12, 5 minute install, comes with instructions
    What's a coffee if it aint Irish

  8. #8
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    207
    Any particular website to purchase from?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

  9. #9
    Marshal ksb51rl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Northern NJ
    Posts
    15,994
    Since it's a standard Traxxas part, probably the same place you get other parts from in order to keep the shipping costs down.

    Back OT: Range problems with TQi radios, while not unheard of, are not normal. You really should call Traxxas tech support.
    Alt-248 on the number pad =

  10. #10
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    989
    Noooo, hahah I hope it's not that serious

    I haven't had a chance to check yet
    What's a coffee if it aint Irish

  11. #11
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    989
    So i tried pushing the wire up and tested it out, still the same range

    It's not terrible range but it is about half of what it should be , maybe less

    I guess I have to register the summit and give traxxas a call

    How's that work if you live in Canada ?
    What's a coffee if it aint Irish

  12. #12
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. jamann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Victoria B.C Canada
    Posts
    5,228
    Quote Originally Posted by TQi View Post
    So i tried pushing the wire up and tested it out, still the same range

    It's not terrible range but it is about half of what it should be , maybe less

    I guess I have to register the summit and give traxxas a call

    How's that work if you live in Canada ?
    service is great
    shipping it to them costs some money my tqi cost me $38 bucks to ship to them
    for replacement after i first got it.new one i recieved works perfect.
    Mountains cant stop me
    they have tried

  13. #13
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    989
    So I have to pay like 30-40$ for a new radio system? That plus the wait seems like it isn't worth it .. well my summit's only like 15 days old so would it be cheaper for me?

    If not I'll do some more trouble shooting first

    Any other suggestions? I pulled the wire on the rx up and put it in a loop under the top piece, I don't know..
    What's a coffee if it aint Irish

  14. #14
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    989
    Where do I find this serial number to register?

    Help please, the range is brutal almost like it's getting worse and worse
    What's a coffee if it aint Irish

  15. #15
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chehalis, Wa
    Posts
    436
    I've never registered any of mine and still have sent parts in and had them warranty them.
    _______^_
    /______l__\____
    l_l O l_____l O l

  16. #16
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. jamann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Victoria B.C Canada
    Posts
    5,228
    There should be a sticker on the chassis somewhere.mine was on the rx box but that was three years ago back in the am days


    Sent using lipo power
    Mountains cant stop me
    they have tried

  17. #17
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    989
    Thanks, found it earlier on top of the chassis, just wasn't sure if that was the number they wanted
    What's a coffee if it aint Irish

  18. #18
    Marshal ksb51rl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Northern NJ
    Posts
    15,994
    And they're closed for the holidays. They weren't on the 19th when I wrote that you should call.
    Alt-248 on the number pad =

  19. #19
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    989
    Hahah yeah I should have, I'll try on Wednesday
    What's a coffee if it aint Irish

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •