Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    16

    Viper Copperhead Help

    I just installed the Viper Copperhead VX4.39 in the Rustler. We'll I go to try it out and it'll barely run 2mph, I call Viper to see if they can help me out. I start explaining what it's doing then go on to tell him that I'm using the stock 7cell, 3000mah, 8.4v Nihm battery till I can get a Lipo. He says that my battery is the whole problem, that the 4 pole motor and the ESC need more draw than the Nimh battery could ever give. So I get off the phone with him and order a 2 cell, 5000mah, 40c lipo from SPC. My question is did I get the right battery and is this true that my Nimh battery the problem? Advice would be great.

  2. #2
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    451
    Quote Originally Posted by Wheat View Post
    I just installed the Viper Copperhead VX4.39 in the Rustler. We'll I go to try it out and it'll barely run 2mph, I call Viper to see if they can help me out. I start explaining what it's doing then go on to tell him that I'm using the stock 7cell, 3000mah, 8.4v Nihm battery till I can get a Lipo. He says that my battery is the whole problem, that the 4 pole motor and the ESC need more draw than the Nimh battery could ever give. So I get off the phone with him and order a 2 cell, 5000mah, 40c lipo from SPC. My question is did I get the right battery and is this true that my Nimh battery the problem? Advice would be great.
    It shouldn't be the problem. Give it a good shove and see if it will get going.

  3. #3
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    220
    I was running a four poe castle notor with a nimh and had no problems at all

  4. #4
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Greatscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    N. Idaho... Da Sticks!
    Posts
    3,309
    Both of those ESCs will over stress you NiMH packs, they pull more amperage than what the packs are designed to deliver. But, your ESC should still operate and send power to the motor. Try checking your wiring and your ESC settings.
    Submarine Qualified, Chief Inducted, Navy Retired

  5. #5
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    16
    I figured it out. Had the wrong profile set on the ESC. Works great on Mode one till my Lipo gets here.

  6. #6
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    5
    Cool good job on it what s the speed

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •