Results 1 to 29 of 29
  1. #1
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. BaldyDaniels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rouleau, aka "Dog River", Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    3,259

    Here's the real 4-1-1 on the et-3s

    Since the moment i purchased the Funny Car, which was only a couple days after it was released, i had questions regarding The et-3s/et-2400 brushless system. Questions that had no answers printed in the owners manual, nor posted anywhere on the Traxxas site. Then I became one of the first few members here to run this Funny Car brushless system in another Traxxas platform when i installed the system into my HR P2DE XL. Because i have been running the system a little while, i tend to get a lot of questions regarding the ET-3s esc, questions that i could not answer due to the lack of specs posted about this esc.

    I decided to send an email over to Castle Creations to see if i could get the answers to the most frequently asked questions about the et-3s, that i (and many others) have been seeking... And Castle came through and answered all of em to the best of their knowledge.


    Here ya go:


    On 11/30/2012 12:36 AM, Dan wrote:


    Hey guys,

    Now i realize that the et-3s is a MMP based esc because the Castle Link Program states that it is, but i cant find any specs for the et-3s at all, anywhere.

    I (as well as many other Traxxas forum members) would really like to know some more information about the et-3s such as;

    - Is the et-3s capable of the same max input voltage (6s) as the MMP? (it can be programmed for 6s lipo cut-off in castle link)

    -Is the sensor port on the et-3s functional/operational? (options for the sensor port can also be changed in the castle link program)

    - What is the function of the capacitor on the battery leads? Glitch buster?

    - When trying to run a crawler motor (novak 18.5 sensored) with the et-3s, the lvc activates at anything over half throttle. I read about this happening with MMP controllers with firmware 1.38 paired with novak crawler motors, and the issue was remedied by simply reverting to a previous firmware version (1.32) How can I remedy this for the et-3s since there is no option to install previous firmware versions in the Castle link program?

    - We would like to know the detailed specs of the ET-3s such as max voltage, motor limits, motor types it can run, etc. All the good stuff!

    - Also, is the et-2400 (blue can) the exact same motor as your 2400? Does it have the same specs as your 2400?

    - Do you have any plans to upgrade the internal bec of your land controllers? We have been having glitching, range and brown out issues running Savox high torque servos and a few others and needed to install your external bec. Some of us have all Traxxas tqi telemetry sensors installed as well as led lights, castle quick connect adapters etc and it makes for a LOT of extra wiring which could be lessened by not having to run an external bec.


    THE REPLY:

    Re: Speed Controller, 12/3/2012 3:35 PM

    Dan,

    Yes, it has the same ratings as the regular Mamba Max Pro. As for the sensor port, we don't really know if it is functional or not. It most likely is but we are not sure. The capacitor is on the ESC to help with the Amp spikes during the run time of the vehicle. As for the LVC with a crawler motor, there isn't any way to revert back to an older version, however; you can flash the existing firmware and see if that helps. There isn't a motor limit on that ESC per say, It all depends on what vehicle your running, what voltage you are running and what gearing you are running. I am really not sure if the Traxxas 2400 and our 2400 are the exact same, I do know that the Traxxas 2400 is based off of our 2400. They haven't let us know of any plans on upgrading the on board BEC on our car and truck ESC's.

    Dan Forbes
    Product Specialist
    Castle Creations
    540 North Rogers Rd
    Olathe, KS 66062
    (913)390-6939 ext. 138


    So there you have it! Funny Car 4-5-6s lipo speed runs anyone? Should be interesting....

    Sure am glad i scooped up 4 more of the et-3s esc's off ebay chop shops when they were selling for 65-70 bucks shipped, cuz now i have a total of 5 MMP's! Total bonus.

    Have fun with the new Funny Missile! Lol




    http://traxxas.com/forums/showthread...the-HR-P2de-XL...
    Never trust an "Atom", they make up everything.

  2. #2
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    217
    Awesome news!, i only picked up my funny car last week, havent got to use it yet due to weather etc. Good to know that the esc is basically the MMP! and the motor basically the 2400.

    Good job!

    So its this pretty much? (Castle Creations Mamba Max Pro 1/10 Scale Short Course Brushless Combo w/Neu-Castle 1415(2400kV)
    Last edited by Stach35; 12-04-2012 at 03:33 AM.
    PHOENIX Bandit,Summit,Funny Car,Darkrayne Rustler

  3. #3
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. DiggerPede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Texas, Chemical Plant along the Gulf Coast
    Posts
    7,170
    Thanks for getting answers to the questions that we've been wondering about all this time. No matter its a win for the controller IMO. I own 2 myself and have been really happy with them. Another good thing is it comes with CLL. I just currently have it turned off though.

    Gotta love the answer for the Sensor port and the ET-2400 motor.

    I call it double SCORE!!
    Last edited by DiggerPede; 12-04-2012 at 07:49 AM.
    Weak Revenge
    Strong Forgive
    Intelligent Ignore

  4. #4
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. BaldyDaniels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rouleau, aka "Dog River", Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    3,259
    I think i'm more pumped about the esc being able to handle up to 6s lipos, especially for my HR P2de xl which can always use more juice! I think it will take some serious driving skills to top the funny car out on anything more than 3s, but it would be cool to see someone surpass the big 1-0-0 mark. Since we had over 2 feet of snowfall in november, im out of the running... For now. Paddles and skis maybe? lol


    http://traxxas.com/forums/showthread...the-HR-P2de-XL...
    Never trust an "Atom", they make up everything.

  5. #5
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. DiggerPede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Texas, Chemical Plant along the Gulf Coast
    Posts
    7,170
    I can understand that. 6s Lipo is a lot of juice. haha I think I could see 4s maybe. Want to switch weather for a few days? An abnormally warm start to December for us, been in the 80s so far and mid 70's for the rest of the week. Plus i'd love to have a chance to run paddles on some snow.
    Weak Revenge
    Strong Forgive
    Intelligent Ignore

  6. #6
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    246
    quick question whats flashing the firmware
    awesome news on the 6s
    sl2sh, p4de trail truck

  7. #7
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. BaldyDaniels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rouleau, aka "Dog River", Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    3,259
    Quote Originally Posted by DiggerPede View Post
    I can understand that. 6s Lipo is a lot of juice. haha I think I could see 4s maybe. Want to switch weather for a few days? An abnormally warm start to December for us, been in the 80s so far and mid 70's for the rest of the week. Plus i'd love to have a chance to run paddles on some snow.
    If only it were possible.... I wouldnt mind the snow so much if it was just a lil bit, but 2 feet in one month gets to be a bit much. Not to mention that right now with the windchill it is a balmy -21C and will only get colder until about the end of february. We usually get one good 2 week long stretch of -50C every winter, so yeah ill take your weather any day! Lol
    Last edited by BaldyDaniels; 12-04-2012 at 03:09 PM.
    Never trust an "Atom", they make up everything.

  8. #8
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. BaldyDaniels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rouleau, aka "Dog River", Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    3,259
    Quote Originally Posted by RCTRAIN View Post
    quick question whats flashing the firmware
    awesome news on the 6s
    Flashing the firmware is simply erasing then reinstalling the same firmware on the esc. cant see it doing much in the way of solving any issues though.


    Never trust an "Atom", they make up everything.

  9. #9
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    246
    how do you do it
    sl2sh, p4de trail truck

  10. #10
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    246
    the sensor port does work as far as i can tell i have a novak 18.5 crawler and it runs smooth and has no cogging
    sl2sh, p4de trail truck

  11. #11
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    123
    While I never called Castle about the ESC.....I did speak with Traxxas and they seem to believe that running the ET-3s on anything more than 3s can hurt the ESC....so I would only imagine 5-6s would only exaggerate that possibility!....If castle says that it can handle 6s I would really like to try it!....but why would Traxxas say otherwise?...it would be a great selling point for the ESC...or maybe they say this because they dont offer a 4-5-6 cell pack?.....


    .....I tried hooking up a 6s pack.....no go....it wont even initialize....back to 3s and all is well.
    Last edited by Jack@HPL; 12-04-2012 at 07:02 PM.

  12. #12
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. BaldyDaniels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rouleau, aka "Dog River", Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    3,259
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack@HPL View Post
    While I never called Castle about the ESC.....I did speak with Traxxas and they seem to believe that running the ET-3s on anything more than 3s can hurt the ESC....so I would only imagine 5-6s would only exaggerate that possibility!....If castle says that it can handle 6s I would really like to try it!....but why would Traxxas say otherwise?...it would be a great selling point for the ESC...or maybe they say this because they dont offer a 4-5-6 cell pack?.....


    .....I tried hooking up a 6s pack.....no go....it wont even initialize....back to 3s and all is well.
    Sorry guys, i was only relaying the answers i was given by Daniel at castle. I also tried 4, 5 and 6s lipos and all i get is the indicator lights and nothing else.

    I sent a reply to his email with our findings and i will post his response as soon as i get it. UNTIL THEN, PLEASE REFRAIN FROM CONNECTING ANYTHING MORE THAN A 3s LIPO INTO THE ET-3s ESC, as Jack and I may have just been lucky to not have burned up our esc's.

    Thank you Jack@HPL for being a guinea pig with me and verifying that it wont work, im just glad nothing catastrophic happened to your esc. Much appreciated.


    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Sent from Baldy's iPad using your wireless signal. Thanks!
    Never trust an "Atom", they make up everything.

  13. #13
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    123
    no problem Baldy.....I am a risk taker in almost anything i do....its part of winning in any arena of competition...thank you for taking the time to get to the bottom of this....

  14. #14
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. BaldyDaniels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rouleau, aka "Dog River", Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    3,259
    Well, Daniel over at Castle Creations got back to me right away. Heres the reply:

    Re: Speed Controller

    I checked with the engineers, I was mistaken. That ESC was programed to be limited to 3s max. It is not able to be reprogrammed.

    Dan Forbes
    Product Specialist
    Castle Creations
    540 North Rogers Rd
    Olathe, KS 66062
    (913)390-6939 ext. 138

    Oh well, at least we know now. The funny thing about the ET-3s is that the Castle Link Program recognizes it as a MMP, even the Duratrax Element ESC has its own specific programming with a Duratrax logo upon the program startup. But just like the the Et-3s, the element has the option for 4s lipo cutoff, but does not initialize when a 4s is plugged in.

    RCTRAIN has tried the sensor port on his Et-3s and it appears to be functional with his crawler motor. Any other info I find on the Et-3s will also be posted here.




    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Sent from Baldy's iPad using your wireless signal. Thanks!
    Never trust an "Atom", they make up everything.

  15. #15
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    123
    good to know!!.....and the sensor port functionality is great....I think with a nice sensored motor it will provide silky smooth launches.....with the current sensorless setup I see hit or miss launches using the 19t pinion ....its a bit too much gear I think.

  16. #16
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    246
    Just tested the sensor capability of it and it does definitely work if I unplug the sensor cable it cogs if it is plugged in it doesn't cog
    sl2sh, p4de trail truck

  17. #17
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. BaldyDaniels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rouleau, aka "Dog River", Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    3,259
    Quote Originally Posted by RCTRAIN View Post
    Just tested the sensor capability of it and it does definitely work if I unplug the sensor cable it cogs if it is plugged in it doesn't cog
    Cool, thanks for the verification man!

    If Castle and Traxxas were on deck, they could make money off these escs without even having to sell any more of them. All they would have to do is sell the programming/firmware that unlocks the full power of the esc. As long as it was reasonably priced, id be all over it to unlock the full potential of all the et-3s escs i own. Probably wont happen though, cuz im sure the reasoning behind having a 6s capable esc programmed for 3s max is to cut down on warranty claims and repair services. It will be a lot less likely to kill a 6s capable esc with a 3s lipo. But id void my warranty voluntarily and pay extra for the unlock, especially considering the price i paid for these escs. At least i got myself a mamba monster during the black friday sale for 120 bucks, just incase i feel the 6s urge. Lol


    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Sent from Baldy's iPad using your wireless signal. Thanks!
    Never trust an "Atom", they make up everything.

  18. #18
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. pavmentsurfer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    11,145
    FWIW... the latest MMP ESC I received (only a few days ago from tower) has a 7amp BEC setting. I set mine to 6.5 but it does go up to 7 in the castle link software. This is the newest MMP so im not sure if this is a firmware thing or if its internal... but it is interesting.
    Pede, Summit,
    ERBE, Rally,
    Motley Crew, 1SQ

  19. #19
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. DiggerPede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Texas, Chemical Plant along the Gulf Coast
    Posts
    7,170
    Sweet find Pave. I had to go to Castles website to check if they've posted anything new. All I see now it that it has a range between 5-7v for the BEC.

    •Switching BEC powers your radio and servo all the way up to the 6S max input. Users may select the output for any voltage between 5V and 7V.
    Weak Revenge
    Strong Forgive
    Intelligent Ignore

  20. #20
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. BaldyDaniels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rouleau, aka "Dog River", Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    3,259
    Quote Originally Posted by pavmentsurfer View Post
    FWIW... the latest MMP ESC I received (only a few days ago from tower) has a 7amp BEC setting. I set mine to 6.5 but it does go up to 7 in the castle link software. This is the newest MMP so im not sure if this is a firmware thing or if its internal... but it is interesting.
    Pave, did you mean to say 7amp or 7v? I thought the mmp bec was only something like 1.5-2amps. I can only see the 5.5-7v settings in castle link, which would mean that you were using 6.5v to power your 6v servo, correct? Wouldnt that burn the servo out sooner or later?


    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Sent from Baldy's iPad using your wireless signal. Thanks!
    Last edited by BaldyDaniels; 12-08-2012 at 06:01 PM.
    Never trust an "Atom", they make up everything.

  21. #21
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    123
    im sure he meant 7v ....alot of the newer high end servos can take it...and they are FAST.

  22. #22
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Roan Mountain, TN
    Posts
    193
    Have you found any way to run 4s? All I need is one more cell. I plan to use this ET-3s in my E-Slayer I am building and need a 4s ESC and I just ordered one of the ET-3s cause of the price.

  23. #23
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. BaldyDaniels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rouleau, aka "Dog River", Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    3,259
    Quote Originally Posted by JustynKace View Post
    Have you found any way to run 4s? All I need is one more cell. I plan to use this ET-3s in my E-Slayer I am building and need a 4s ESC and I just ordered one of the ET-3s cause of the price.
    Nope, Castle is the only one who can release the firmware to unlock the extra voltage input, and since Traxxas paid them to limit the et-3s to max 3s input, i don't ever see this changing unless someone finds a way to hack the castle link software to create custom firmware.







    Sent from Baldy's iPad using your wireless signal. Thanks!

    P2DE(S) - P4DE - EMAXX - FUNNY CAR - MERV
    Never trust an "Atom", they make up everything.

  24. #24
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    356
    Traxxas did this so some one wont plug in a 4-6s battery and burn their house down!
    Xo-1
    Pede 4x4 PE - Slash 4x4 PE
    Miss Geico Boat

  25. #25
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. BaldyDaniels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rouleau, aka "Dog River", Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    3,259
    Quote Originally Posted by YOLOer View Post
    Traxxas did this so some one wont plug in a 4-6s battery and burn their house down!
    You can plug 4-6s lipo into it but nothing happens. I wasnt aware that plugging a 4-6s pack into the MMP will burn the house down though. �� lol
    Never trust an "Atom", they make up everything.

  26. #26
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Roan Mountain, TN
    Posts
    193
    I wish someone would wright a custom firmware for the ET-3s. I would be happy with just 4s lipo, I don't need 6s. I want this to happen.

  27. #27
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    78
    Sorry to dig up an old thread....

    First and foremost, let me say that I have the the money to replace anything I break and understand the dangers involved in what I am attempting to do. What I am not 100% sure about is if this will violate forum rules. I have read them, and dont see any problem, but if it will be an issue I can seek help elsewhere.

    I have a couple of these laying around. I want to attempt some fancy pants firmware magic (technical term) to unlock the esc. I have a few ideas, hardware expertise, and possibly the equipment to pull it off.

    Is this acceptable to discuss here, or should I go elsewhere?

  28. #28
    Marshal ksb51rl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Northern NJ
    Posts
    15,440
    So long as everything is done with safety in mind, I don't think there will be any issue with it.
    Since this is the FC subforum, and the FC is the only vehicle that uses the ET-3s ESC, I suppose it's the correct location for such a thread. However, I suggest a new thread be started.
    Alt-248 on the number pad =

  29. #29
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    6
    here this will save people reading this thread time. this is a link to how to put genuine castle firmware on the et3s. and i can verify its capable of 6s after your done. there no difference between this and the mmp.
    have at it.
    http://traxxas.com/forums/showthread...ed-Castle-ESCs

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •