Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: too much break

  1. #1
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Nowhere, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    353

    too much break

    Sup!
    I just switched my velineon system to mamba max pro with a 2400kv motor (holy guacamole that's powerful!! I stripped all my hex!)
    The problem is motor's so strong, the fronts wheels locks everytime I brake. Even with the brake amount of the MMP set at 25%. I also tried to reduce the braking % of my TQi remote with the multi-fonction knob, but the front wheels still locks.
    Any idea how to fix this?
    I might buy the castle link kit, but will I be able to set the break percentage under 25%?

  2. #2
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. rag6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    greenwood cemetery bashplex 8°))
    Posts
    12,369
    Cant remember, but on my erbe, I set 1 thing wrong(not brake %), and braking was 100% no matter what I set the braking percentage at... I called castle support and they helped me and I did not need the link. I was able to fix it programming with the tx over the phone with them...
    Whats in my wallet?
    I cant afford a wallet...

  3. #3
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Nowhere, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    353
    This make sense, since I don't see any difference between 100% and 25%. I'll try to set the setting to default, or things like that...

  4. #4
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. rag6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    greenwood cemetery bashplex 8°))
    Posts
    12,369
    call castle support and explain the problem. The helped me with the exact same issue on my mmm.
    Whats in my wallet?
    I cant afford a wallet...

  5. #5
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Nowhere, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    353
    Ok, the problem wasn't hard to find....
    I was using 1.Brake/Reverse type : setting 3: forward/brake/reverse.
    In fact, this is only forward/reverse because the brake is only to protect reversion while going forward at full speed.
    The proper setting was to run reverse lockout option (setting 1.)
    thanks rag6! I think castle support may have facepalmed at my problem :-)

  6. #6
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. rag6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    greenwood cemetery bashplex 8°))
    Posts
    12,369
    There is a setting with reverse that also works. The one we were using was the crawler style setting.
    Whats in my wallet?
    I cant afford a wallet...

  7. #7
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    970
    Yeah, reverse lockout is a racing mode. I use fwd/brake/rverse on all my vehicles besides crawlers.

  8. #8
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Portland OR
    Posts
    381
    Same set up/ over braking problem. Learned to pulse brake to stop. 4s speed runs at work ended up flipping forward/kartwheeling into a work truck. Broke the chassis and body that I can tell so far. I think its time to call castle. If you practice front flips in the grass are kind of cool though

  9. #9
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. O.G.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    South of St Louis
    Posts
    5,796
    I guess your problem is solved, but I'd still recommend you get the castle link, there's a world of adjustments to make.


    Deer meat in the freezer
    My Black & Blue Rally is faster than your color...

  10. #10
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Nowhere, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    353
    Yes, I'll definitely buy a castle link

    Quote Originally Posted by braaap58 View Post
    Same set up/ over braking problem. Learned to pulse brake to stop. 4s speed runs at work ended up flipping forward/kartwheeling into a work truck. Broke the chassis and body that I can tell so far. I think its time to call castle. If you practice front flips in the grass are kind of cool though
    Even with the reverse lockout option? It solved my problem, brake work properly.

  11. #11
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    970
    But you no longer have reverse. I think that reverse is an important feature for most people, but if you don't need it then you are all set.


    Quote Originally Posted by emmanhello View Post
    Yes, I'll definitely buy a castle link

    Even with the reverse lockout option? It solved my problem, brake work properly.

  12. #12
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Nowhere, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    353
    There are 3 options in the MMP:
    1-reverse lockout (2 sec. before reverse, this one you should use)
    2-forward/brake (no reverse)
    3-forward/brake/reverse (always brake at 100%)

  13. #13
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    970
    ............

  14. #14
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    970
    Ah, reverse lockout typically mean what it says, locked out. Didn't realize there was a separate no reverse option. As you can tell, I don't read manuals

  15. #15
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Nowhere, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    353
    The more you know....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •