Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Puttin out a fire
    Posts
    575

    Idle Question - New to RC

    Hey guys, just a quick question on the Revo. Im new to the RC world and this is my second truck I purchased a couple days after my first truck (T-Maxx 3.3) Really enjoying it. So I was told this is a 2006 model Revo 3.3 (see pictures below). I tuned it to the recommende settings (4/1.75) on the carb and it seems to be running well. Question is it seems to idle too high, and if I let the brake off it will pick up speed on its own (fast). It makes it real hard to learn how to drive it this way and cost me a front left side already (nailed a street sign). How is this adjusted ? It came with an AM remote. I see there are adjustments on this remote but not really sure how to use them. Heres the truck. Btw, I picked it up RTR for only $100.00 (Revo 3.3). Thanks for any help.






  2. #2
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Puttin out a fire
    Posts
    575
    BTW, is this truck supposed to have (2) steering servos ? Am I missing one on the right side ?

  3. #3
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by firemanJBI View Post
    BTW, is this truck supposed to have (2) steering servos ? Am I missing one on the right side ?
    you could have either single or dual servo set-up. It's OK. but the torque required is supposed to be bigger for the single set-up.

  4. #4
    Marshal Double G's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Putting the wet stuff on the hot stuff
    Posts
    9,840
    With the engine off, turn the electronics on, disconnect the servo horn, set the transmitter to "0" and make sure the gap inside the carb is 0.7-1.0mm open. Then attach the horn and adjust the collars as necessary to make sure that at no throttle input the gap stays the same and at full throttle the barrel is fully open in the carb.
    The Super Derecho

  5. #5
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Puttin out a fire
    Posts
    575
    Quote Originally Posted by Double G View Post
    With the engine off, turn the electronics on, disconnect the servo horn, set the transmitter to "0" and make sure the gap inside the carb is 0.7-1.0mm open. Then attach the horn and adjust the collars as necessary to make sure that at no throttle input the gap stays the same and at full throttle the barrel is fully open in the carb.
    I dont know what " servo horn" is ??? lol. Im still learning.

    Quote Originally Posted by hfofhf View Post
    you could have either single or dual servo set-up. It's OK. but the torque required is supposed to be bigger for the single set-up.
    I have spare servos, is it hard to add another ? Will my Rx allow another ?
    Last edited by Double G; 11-07-2012 at 01:56 PM. Reason: merge

  6. #6
    Marshal Double G's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Putting the wet stuff on the hot stuff
    Posts
    9,840
    Quote Originally Posted by firemanJBI View Post
    I dont know what " servo horn" is ??? lol. Im still learning.



    I have spare servos, is it hard to add another ? Will my Rx allow another ?
    http://lmgtfy.com/?q=servo+horn


    If you have two CH1 slots in the receiver then yes. Otherwise you would need to get a "Y" and connect both servos to the receiver.
    I run a single 2075 servo and it seems to do just fine for me. Though others want more power and go with either two of them or a single more powerful one.
    The Super Derecho

  7. #7
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Puttin out a fire
    Posts
    575
    So is that what the 4 numbers on the servo mean ? The higher number, more strength ?

  8. #8
    Marshal Double G's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Putting the wet stuff on the hot stuff
    Posts
    9,840
    The model number; nothing more, nothing less.
    The Super Derecho

  9. #9
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Puttin out a fire
    Posts
    575
    A few more questions about my Revo truck. I was looking at it last night and I think it may have a different battery back for the servos then it came with. Have a look at these pictures.

    This battry box was with all the spares, but this battery doesnt fit in it







    Also I have a number of these metal braces ? Can anyone tell me what these are/do ??? Thanks guys.


  10. #10
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Lafayette,LA.
    Posts
    701
    I think those bars are "sway bars" front and back.

    Sent from not a iphone

  11. #11
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Puttin out a fire
    Posts
    575
    Hmmmmm. Sway bars eh, where the heck do they go ? Anybody else have info on the battery box ?

  12. #12
    Marshal Double G's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Putting the wet stuff on the hot stuff
    Posts
    9,840
    You are missing some pieces for the sway bar as it should look like this:


    http://traxxas.com/sites/default/fil...stallation.pdf

    The box that says "Top Fuel" on the side is actually for the throttle servo and the "U" portion should be towards the rear. But since you have the Slayer-style throttle box, you don't need that. The battery box has been modified from the original and should look like this:


    I prefer these from the 5308 Revo or the Slayer:



    Scroll down halfway down the page for the exploded views of your model: http://traxxas.com/support/PDF-Downl...revious-Models
    Last edited by Double G; 11-08-2012 at 02:39 PM.
    The Super Derecho

  13. #13
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Puttin out a fire
    Posts
    575
    Ok well I might order the correct box for the battery as the one I have is in pretty rough shape. It was beenin held in with zip ties. Hey Double G, what do you think of the HPI Monster King. I got a chance to get one for $100 with a 2.4 Rx

  14. #14
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    S. Jersey
    Posts
    721
    Also I have a number of these metal braces ? Can anyone tell me what these are/do ??? Thanks guys.

    [/QUOTE]
    Those sway bars are for the Jato.
    Jato 3.3, Revo .28 JL Max, Nitro Stampede 3.3

  15. #15
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    West Coast, Fl
    Posts
    2,114
    The battery box you have is from the Tekno conversion.
    2009 Florida State Monster Truck Champion
    RBMods

  16. #16
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Puttin out a fire
    Posts
    575
    Quote Originally Posted by pntmachine View Post
    The battery box you have is from the Tekno conversion.
    And what is that ? "tekno conversion" ?

  17. #17
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Puttin out a fire
    Posts
    575
    I googled it. Electric converstion ? So this Revo was elec or that battery was an aftermarket part ?

  18. #18
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    West Coast, Fl
    Posts
    2,114
    No that conversion was to run optional and larger fuel tanks. It was not for an electric conversion.
    http://www.teknorc.com/tekno5/wp-con...structions.pdf
    Here is an older picture of the Tekno battery and receiver box setup with a mugen tank. These came into play before Traxxas had there 150cc tank.
    Last edited by pntmachine; 11-08-2012 at 10:28 PM.
    2009 Florida State Monster Truck Champion
    RBMods

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •