Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    55

    My 3.3 to brushless

    Im working on building a brushless from a revo 3.3. I have a few questions from the people that have been doing this for a while.

  2. #2
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    55
    I have a 2150 kv brushless motor and a 120a ESC coming in. All I know is it will handle a 4s lipo battery I know what the mAh is. But what's the other numbers mean.

  3. #3
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. vxlrocket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Manassas, Va
    Posts
    6,654
    Quote Originally Posted by 82bige01 View Post
    I have a 2150 kv brushless motor and a 120a ESC coming in. All I know is it will handle a 4s lipo battery I know what the mAh is. But what's the other numbers mean.
    ideally, it should be atleast 25C. the higher the C rating the better and atleast 5000mah. any less, and you're really taxing the esc. do a search for the E-revo FAQ from Armyofdarkness. all the information you're looking for is there. it might have been taken down here on Traxxas, but here is the guide on another site:
    http://robotwars.00server.com/erevofaq.html
    Last edited by vxlrocket; 10-02-2012 at 08:10 AM.
    Associated rc8TE, rc8.2E, B4.2, Ofna LX2E, Slash

  4. #4
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    55
    Ok I got the ESC in now I don't know how to wire it up. The plugs that go to the receiver are different. And I'm not real sure what plugs to what for the little wires. I know the motor and the battery wires. It is a hobby king 120a ESC. I got it used with no paperwork.

  5. #5
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. humayrayakongkinaon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, California
    Posts
    6,248
    did it atleast come with a program card? most of the small plug tha goes to the reciever are more likely the same but traxxas plug have a lip to guide in. is this what yours look like? http://www.hobbypartz.com/07e-ezrun-sc8.html
    Last edited by humayrayakongkinaon; 10-05-2012 at 10:52 PM.
    | Rally GT8 Powered By CC |

  6. #6
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    55
    Nope no program card.

    http://www.*********.com/*********/s..._1_8_1_5_.html

    This is the one I got.

  7. #7

  8. #8
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    55
    http://www.*********.com/*********/s..._1_8_1_5_.html

    I'm trying to get the link to work. When I copy and paste its not working.

  9. #9
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. humayrayakongkinaon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, California
    Posts
    6,248
    that site is probably band here LOL
    | Rally GT8 Powered By CC |

  10. #10
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    55
    But yes. The traxxas receiver I have has the little lip on it and the other one don't. I'm going to just shave the lip off. And I think I know what goes where. Maybe.

  11. #11
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    55
    O. How hard is it to program the ESC without the program card.

  12. #12
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. humayrayakongkinaon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, California
    Posts
    6,248
    i personally dont like doing it manually, i'm afraid of breaking that tiny set button by keep on pressing continiously.
    | Rally GT8 Powered By CC |

  13. #13
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    55
    How do I know how much to push it.

  14. #14
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. humayrayakongkinaon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, California
    Posts
    6,248
    you go by how many blink there is thru the guidelines. manual is very handy to program it manually.
    | Rally GT8 Powered By CC |

  15. #15
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    55
    I don't even know how many blinks mean what. It didn't come with any paperwork.

  16. #16
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    55
    Ok for now I'm on hold for the ESC. So I guess it's on to the transmission. The one I have is a stock slayer 3.3. What do I need to do. Get a new set of gears. New transmission. Or hoping I can just keep this one.

  17. #17
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. humayrayakongkinaon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, California
    Posts
    6,248
    more likely to strip are the top gear, so if you can buy the rr top gear....... to save some cash by all means buy it. look it up and make sure you buy the right one. if you have the 38t 2nd gear then you need to get the 18t top gear.
    | Rally GT8 Powered By CC |

  18. #18
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. rjm2519's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Fl
    Posts
    3,062
    Go back to the site that sells that esc and get the manual there, as for the rest of the project there are a couple good threads, humay's is definitely a good one to follow. And i do believe he used the slayer tranny as well, but with a forward only kit. Hope you get it sorted out and get a review of your setup. Some pics too!!
    Donít handicap children by making life easy

  19. #19
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. humayrayakongkinaon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, California
    Posts
    6,248
    look thru this HW ESC and find what looks to be your ESC http://www.rcecho.com/HOBBYWING-Speed-Controller-ESC/
    with the program card....it let you program 1 thru 12.
    Last edited by humayrayakongkinaon; 10-08-2012 at 01:14 PM.
    | Rally GT8 Powered By CC |

  20. #20
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    55
    Ok I'm lost again. That's not saying much. I got new gears in. (Replacing the big gear on the out side of the transmission). They don't have the friction pads on there. I figured out how to get the bearing out of the other bad factory bad gears but I'm not sure how for the friction pads. Plz help. I hope I don't sound to stupid.

  21. #21
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    55
    I feel real stupid now. I got the out I'm sorry everyone to waste your time.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •