RC Racer

need help. tires and wheels

im looking for some new wheels and im stuck. i really want the speed hawgs but have some ?s

the look like they may be too big.

i mostly drive on road on asphalt. and have found to much info on how the drive. some say great others say different.

my second choice is premount despo's with road rage.

what do you think. im a disabled vet and dont have money to waste. let me know thanks

RC Racer
    I have the 3.8 desperados and roadrages and they are good great for pavement and pretty good on hard packed dirt

RC Racer
    thanks. im lookin for something that stick on asphalts but has a little slide to it. the stock talons flip to easy and when it does slide it hard to control

RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Only problem with premounted tires is they are not taped and will balloon with 3 cell batteries but on 2 cell you will be fine.
    The standard road rage are ok they don't compare to the much wider speed hawg .
    Dirt hawgs is another favorite that despite its name work good in the street. Look a few posts down on tires

Dirt Hawg s which are made for the rear of a 1/10th scale buggy mounted up on Traxxas 7171 Dish rims have been a great set up for me. I run my MERV mostly on pavement and grass and the tires hook up and handle well. Best thing about them is they seem to last forever.
    BlindMan Racing
    Rusty - MERV - Pede 4x4-Alias
    SPC Lipo Power

RC Racer
    thanks 50, i didnt think abouth the premounts not being taped. but the price is hard to pass. i think the speed hawgs would be good were i run cuse the open spot in the asphalt were i live, stock wheels grab those spots and flip it.

RC Racer
    thanks for the help everyone. im still leaning towards speed hawgs

RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    speed hawgs next to dirt hawgs you will need some 2" rims like the hpi 2160

RC Enthusiast
    does anyone know about wheels with more offset than the stock ones that fit the stock tires ?

RC Qualifier