Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 43
  1. #1
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252

    After 5 run my motor is broken

    Today my stock Spartan motor broke....the rotor inside the motor broke in many part!!!On 4S pack.What is the best option for me????Did traxxas sale a rotor kit for this motor????I don't want to put another 200$$ on the boat.This morning a bought on Kintec and Offshore website many upgrade for my spartan:

    -540XL aluminium cooling jacket
    -Silicone tubbing
    -Dual water pick-up rudder

    What i can do......i don't want to wait 3-4 week.I live in Quebec Canada!!!







  2. #2
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    844
    That's nasty.

    Options are to contact Traxxas re: warranty. Not sure how well that works non US customers, but the call is toll free so may as well call.

    Replace with a similar Leopard motor, since you have just purchased the cooling jacket, you probably want to stay with a 74mm can size.

    Kevin

  3. #3
    Marshal ksb51rl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Northern NJ
    Posts
    15,140
    Quote Originally Posted by hog View Post
    That's nasty.

    Options are to contact Traxxas re: warranty. Not sure how well that works non US customers, but the call is toll free so may as well call.

    Replace with a similar Leopard motor, since you have just purchased the cooling jacket, you probably want to stay with a 74mm can size.

    Kevin
    Double-whammy: the call is not free for our canadian neighbors. But a call should still be placed.
    Alt-241 on the number pad =

  4. #4
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    I send a message to Traxxas i wait for reponse....

    What is the best motor for the stock ESC in Leopard brand LBP36 Series??

    1650?1700?1400?2200KV??

    I want to have the same power than my Traxxas motor and keep the same runtime or better!!

    Or some Tacon 15-1700kv motor?
    Last edited by cooleocool; 07-28-2012 at 12:38 PM. Reason: post merge

  5. #5
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    844
    You want a 3674 series motor. The stock is 1800kv, I would suggest staying at or below that kv rating to prevent further loading on the esc.

    I ran a tacon 3674 1700kv motor for awhile and it worked very well.

    Hog

  6. #6
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    Stock is not 1600kv???And yes i want to keep the 36-76mm to fit with my jacket......when my ESC will break i will check for a new motor/esc setup!

    With your Tacon did you see some difference in power and runtime VS stock?

  7. #7
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    844
    My Spartans were first generation, which did have 1600kv motors. So when I went to th 1700kv I was stepping up to a little higher rpm motor. I also changed out the ESC to a 180 amp.

    The new castle setups are an 1800kv motor.

    I never ran the stock components, so couldn't tell you how the tacon 1700 compared for run times. In theory it should have been a bit shorter because the higher kv should pull more amps. But, the original stock motor was a two pole, and the tacon was a 4 pole and more efficient, so it may have worked out to be a push.

    If I were in your shoes, I think I would go with a 1700kv, take a bit of load off the ESC and not really sacrifice much on top end speed.

    Install an octura x442 prop and you will probably be back pretty close to stock performance.

    Have fun with the boat until, if or when, the ESC goes, then upgrade to your ideal setup.

    Unless of course you want to go the whole nine yards now.

    Hog

  8. #8
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    Thanks for the reply it's appreciated.....

    My Spartan is the V1 generation (i think) no "castle" tag on ESC or Motor!!

  9. #9
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    I bought this on Ebay :
    -LEOPARD Boat 3674 KV1650 4 Poles Brushless Motor IM110

  10. #10
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    TENNESSEE
    Posts
    364
    on my first spartan the motor didnt last the first run you should consider your self lucky but they will take care of your problem have no fear of that
    MINE ARE FASTER THAN GPS!!!

  11. #11
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    Quote Originally Posted by MAMBA2200 View Post
    on my first spartan the motor didnt last the first run you should consider your self lucky but they will take care of your problem have no fear of that
    It's the fisrt time i see a brushless motor that's broke like that!!

  12. #12
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    844
    Quote Originally Posted by SkidMan View Post
    I bought this on Ebay :
    -LEOPARD Boat 3674 KV1650 4 Poles Brushless Motor IM110
    That should work well. If you have a 1st generation Spartan that motor is pretty much the same kv rating as the original, but is a 4 pole so will be more efficient.

    Hopefully you will get some problem free runtime now.

    Hog

  13. #13
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    Yep!!!But i will have the new motor only in 2-3 week

  14. #14
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    I wish that i will receive my new motor this week!!

    Did i have something to do on the ESC programation for the new motor???

  15. #15
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    844
    No programming should be necessary for a motor swap.

    After hooking up, check the rotation, if backwards switch any two of three wires.

    You may need to switch out the bullet connectors, chances are the ones on the motor won't be the same size as those on the ESC.

    Hog

  16. #16
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    Thanks again Hog!!!!

  17. #17
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    I receive my new motor today......................but nothing work!!The new motor try to run but it's seem that the esc cannot give the power required for the motor to start rotation....the motor try to turn but nothin happen.My Lipo is fully charged and i switch the motor wire with the esc one by one.ESC dead???????????????????????????????
    P.S.The motor run fine on my E-maxx brushless!


    And another question......no trouble to run this motor on a spartan??Water can go inside???I think the seller send me the wrong motor.I paid for a LBP3674-B-1650kv (for boat) and i receive LPB3674-1650kv.




  18. #18
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    844
    No motor can be gauranteed water proof, the bearings being the most obvious area for leaking, even a sealed bearing can leak by.

    The end cap style on your motor is designed to allow some air cooling, so designed more with planes or cars as the application.

    However I have run this style on boats in the past with no issues. If they get swamped you know there is water in them, they are easy to drain, and all I ever did was follow with a generous dousing of wd40 after draining to prevent rusting and help displace any residual water.

    In some ways, I prefer this end cap style over the "sealed" style that have to be disassembled to check for water in the can.

    And I would guess your ESC took a hit when your motor let loose, especially since you have confirmed the motor works in another rc.

    Hog

  19. #19
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    Quote Originally Posted by hog View Post
    And I would guess your ESC took a hit when your motor let loose, especially since you have confirmed the motor works in another rc.

    Hog
    Agreed!!

    Today a made some "cap" for my motor on a Laser cutting at my work did you think it's a good idea?




  20. #20
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    844
    I can't see any reason not to run with the caps. Since the motor was never designed to be waterproof, there is no guarantee the end caps are going to prevent the motor from filling with water through the bearings or wire exit area if it gets swamped.

    Since you are water cooling, covering the end caps shouldn't affect cooling to any degree.

    hog

  21. #21
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    Il will install the two cap on each side and put some silicone on the wire !!For the bearing il will drop marine grease on it!

    Job done!!









    Last edited by cooleocool; 08-17-2012 at 03:36 PM. Reason: post merge

  22. #22
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    1,178
    I like the carbon fiber. Is it vinyl?

  23. #23
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    Yes vinyl!!

  24. #24
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    844
    Looks great , nice work.
    hog

  25. #25
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    New ESC on the way..........********/seaking 180 !!

    Please note that a product name has been blocked by the language filter. That is because that product is not allowed to be mentioned on this forum.
    Last edited by cooleocool; 08-17-2012 at 03:36 PM.

  26. #26
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    276
    Wow! looks like CF, I like it! nice work!

  27. #27
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    Today work:
    -Second water outlet
    -Silicone on motor wire and under my custom stainless cap
    -More carbone











  28. #28
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    ESC received......the Spartan will be ready for the week-end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Brand New Seaking 180 V.3 (added Capacitor Bank)



    NO HP MOD..................

    -EMB (GPS 51.6mph)
    -Spartan (GPS 48.2mph)

  29. #29
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    The spartan is now ready to go!!Some test this week-end!!

    Water cutting 1/2" MOS2 (plastic)


    Job done!
    -EMB (GPS 51.6mph)
    -Spartan (GPS 48.2mph)

  30. #30
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    844
    Have fun this weekend,
    What did you decide to run for a prop?
    hog

  31. #31
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    Quote Originally Posted by hog View Post
    Have fun this weekend,
    What did you decide to run for a prop?
    hog
    Stock..............but i will upgrade next year!!
    -EMB (GPS 51.6mph)
    -Spartan (GPS 48.2mph)

  32. #32
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    First run with the new setup today:
    -Aluminium jacket
    -Seaking 180
    -Leopard 1650kv motor 3674
    -Dual water pickup
    -4S and 6S run

    TEMP(on 6S)water 70-74F:
    -Motor 80-85F
    -Esc 80-85F
    -Capacitor 80-85F
    -Lipo 90-95F

    Tops speed (on 6S):
    47.41MPH

    But some question......2 pair of 2S(40C 5000mah) pack doesn't give me full power...the motor stop working for less than 1 second and the speed it's not really fast VS my other 2S pack(30C 5000mah).No problem with my other 3S pack (40C 5000mah).Esc lipo cut-off trouble???At the end of the day i try this 2 pair of 2S pack again and work well!!

    With the stock ESC and motor my remote signal is very far but with this new setup i lost half.Why????








    47.41MPH




    Last edited by SkidMan; 09-02-2012 at 04:37 PM.
    -EMB (GPS 51.6mph)
    -Spartan (GPS 48.2mph)

  33. #33
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    Bump????????
    -EMB (GPS 51.6mph)
    -Spartan (GPS 48.2mph)

  34. #34
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    844
    Don't have any answers for your questions, but looks like some good runs.

    76 kph is just shy of 50 mph claimed by Traxxas, and that is with stock prop, and motor kv the same as the first generation Spartan, so you are close to being right on the money for speed.

    For Tx distance, check to make sure the antennae wire is all the way up the antennae tube. Also check to see if you ran any wiring close to the antennae that may interfere with the signal.

    hog

  35. #35
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    Thanks Hog....i will check for my wire!!

    For my 4x2S pack from Gens Ace i think that is lost her power.....the pack have 100-110 charge and now on my E-MAxx i can't do backflip (no problem to do backflip with this back before)
    -EMB (GPS 51.6mph)
    -Spartan (GPS 48.2mph)

  36. #36
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    Brand new Traxxas Castle ESC and Motor received from Traxxas with dean plug on it...........NO CHARGE!!!

    WOW

    Thank you very much Traxxas!!!!!!!
    -EMB (GPS 51.6mph)
    -Spartan (GPS 48.2mph)

  37. #37
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    276
    Quote Originally Posted by SkidMan View Post
    Brand new Traxxas Castle ESC and Motor received from Traxxas with dean plug on it...........NO CHARGE!!!

    WOW

    Thank you very much Traxxas!!!!!!!
    Thats awesome. So that was through traxxas or directly through Castle?

    How is your new setup running? Still getting cool temps across all components?

  38. #38
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Quebec,Alma,Lac-St-Jean
    Posts
    252
    Through Traxxas.......and my new setup with Lepoard and Seaking is about:

    TEMP(on 6S)water 70-74F:
    -Motor 80-85F
    -Esc 80-85F
    -Capacitor 80-85F
    -Lipo 90-95F

    Thanks again Traxxas!!!
    -EMB (GPS 51.6mph)
    -Spartan (GPS 48.2mph)

  39. #39
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    5
    Those leopards are good 4 pole motors. 1650kv is about all you want on a 6S set up. Once you get some decent props you will be set. The plastic flexes like crazy under load. Octura 442 is nice.

    Also, don't think those Gens Ace are that good myself. Trucks, etc fine but boats are a totally different animal. You always want 40-50C and 4000-5000. The best is running 2P. When you pull on some cells hard the ESC sees a big voltage drop and kicks out. Many set the ESC, especially the 180, to no cut off and time their runs.

    I am sure Traxxas makes some great lipos that can keep up with amp draw on their own boats.

    You might want to see what Castle reccomends since Traxxas is a partner of theirs. I can tell you Castle usually asks for high C ratings and 2p config.
    Last edited by cooleocool; 10-01-2012 at 07:56 PM. Reason: post merge

  40. #40
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    519
    @Skidman what is the size of your water hose? And where you got it.
    Sharing is the best thing to do on EARTH legally.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •