RC Enthusiast

Older E Maxx questions

Hi, I just bought an older E maxx, the one with the 27 MHz transmitter and the purple evx esc. I am not sure if this esc can use 2 lipos or not. If it does, where can i find a cheap lipo detection charm? Also I want to know if there are any inexpensive brushless motors/esc drop-ins that I could put in it. I would like a motor that is waterproof but I don't want it to be super slow... Maybe 30mph on high gear and I want the esc to take at least two 2cell lipos. Please help, I'm not very experienced with electric rc(I'm used to nitro) and I don't know many motor brands that are good.

hobbypartz has some good priced 1/8 systems for around 99.99 if you can find them in stock and nitrorcx has the same thing. rcecho.com has a great combo i got for 166.99 shipped express a hobbywing xerun 2000kv sc8 esc 2-4s lipos waterproof. you might need to upgrade your truck some before taking on a combo like that though. if its like older older you have to. do you know your model #?
    DEU 8:18 ESV

RC Champion
    I think he might have the 3905
    Emaxx #3903, MERV
    RPM/PROLINE

RC Enthusiast
    I think it's the 3906. I also just found out one of the gears is stripped in the transmission, so is that something to upgrade to steel to be able to handle brushless?

RC Champion
    if its the plastic idler #3996, change that to 3996x steel idler. It needs ground down to narrow the width, but use the old short shafts that the idler's go on. There's a how too on the forum somewhere, but all you do is grind down the new idlers till a flat edge surface. You'll see when you get them how far to go down as it has a lip on them.
    There was a company that made the full metal transmission gears but not no more, there was a set on ebay a couple weeks back very expensive.
    Guide books aren't part of the packaging.

RC Enthusiast
    Lol ya it is the 3996... Common problem among the emaxxs? Also, does this look like a good motor/esc setup?