RC Enthusiast

Can the rally vxl handle 3s batteries?

I have several 3s batteries and would like to get the rally car. I also have the stock 7cell batteries that came with my revo, would they perform good and will they fit? I have the traxxas 3s 25c 5000mah lipo batteries and would love to run on 3s. I'm a newbie to electric my revo is insane so I'm thing of switching to all electric.
    Thanks
    James

RC Qualifier
    The rally is a 1/16 scale and will need smaller batteries like these. 3s will work but the ones that came with an e-revo are way too big to fit.
    ERBE, Sl4sh MT, P4de, 1/16 Grave Digger 4x4

RC Enthusiast
    Thanks for answering my question I pulled trigger and bought the ken block rally now I need the parallel harness and two lipos that you showed me and it should be fun

RC Turnbuckle Jr. pavmentsurfer's Avatar
    3S in a stock rally can cause the ESC to overheat and die and its really easy to burn up the stock motor. Yes, it can do it. But you need to be REALLY careful with temps and gearing. Opening up some cooling holes in the body and getting a good motor heatsink/fan combo is HIGHLY recommended. The car is pretty much undriveably fast on 3S and the truth is, 2S is MORE than enough for this car. OTher than doing straight line speed runs I found 3S made the car LESS fun.

I strongly suggest NOT getting the parallel harness for 2 reasons.

First, the rally was setup and designed to run a single battery in only one side. That is the way the car is best weighted. Adding to batteries makes it handle poorly.