Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: What did i do?

  1. #1
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chehalis, Wa
    Posts
    436

    What did i do?

    Ok. I let the daughter play with my summit and some how the trany servo stopped working. So I figured it was time to do a cleansing while I was waiting for the new servo. Well today the servo came and I installed it and got it up and running. Everything works great except that when I get about 60 feet away it just stops. I put new batteries in the remote and fresh charged batts in the summit and still no change. I also found out that when I put the remote behind my back that I have no movement in my summit. When I bring it back front of me I have full control. what when bad?

  2. #2
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. JimmyNeutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, Michigan
    Posts
    12,291
    Check your antennas... both the Rx and Tx.
    Also check for dampness in the Rx box.
    Whatever it is I just typed... could be wrong.

  3. #3
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. jamann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Victoria B.C Canada
    Posts
    5,227
    +1 thats the first thing to check with those symptoms is it a am or 2.4 tx


    Sent from my iPhone using My fingers
    Mountains cant stop me
    they have tried

  4. #4
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Newport Beach, California
    Posts
    516
    Maybe you ate too much lead as a child?
    Bash OR crawl? No, the Summit does it all!

  5. #5
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chehalis, Wa
    Posts
    436
    I've checked the rx over and over and didn't see anything out of the ordinary. I have not looked at the tx yet. What should.I be looking for in the rx and tx?

  6. #6
    Marshal ksb51rl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Northern NJ
    Posts
    15,986
    @ jamann: It is definitely a 2.4GHz.

    @ Keila72: Didn't you have water in the Rx box previously? Radios (Tx and/or Rx) have a flat $15 repair/replacement + $5 return shipping fee per the Traxxas Lifetime Electronics warranty.
    Alt-248 on the number pad =

  7. #7
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chehalis, Wa
    Posts
    436
    I did have moisture in the rx box and it was working great for about 3-4 weeks and then this happened. what should i he lookjng for in the rx and tx

  8. #8
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    260
    check the antenna length in the blue antenna tube beside the receiver.
    you could have moved the cable coming out of the receiver it while changing the servos over (it happened to me before)

  9. #9
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chehalis, Wa
    Posts
    436
    Ok. I've tore into my TX and didn't see anything out of the ordinary. I also tore into my RX and didn't see anything wrong either. The only thing I noticed is when I loose signal the red light links on the the RX.
    The RX antenna is all the way to the top of the blue tube an.d everything is spotless inside. I also put a little bit of dialectic grease in there last time I had it apart.
    What is the metal end on the antenna wire in the blue tube? How long should mine be? Mine is 1/16 shy of 1"

    Also. Does the Y harness and light have to be plugged in. I took them out to have them repaired and they are currently not on the rig.
    Last edited by Keila72; 05-19-2012 at 01:36 PM.

  10. #10
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. jamann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Victoria B.C Canada
    Posts
    5,227
    No only the esc needs to be plugged in
    Mine has a clear coated piece of wire sticking out of the metal end a inch or so


    Sent from my iPhone using My fingers
    Mountains cant stop me
    they have tried

  11. #11
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chehalis, Wa
    Posts
    436
    Do u think thats whats wrong with mine. I have been messing with it all day and still can't figure It out. If that is what's wrong with it is it Fixable or do I have to buy a new RX. My nearest hobby shop is just over a hour away and I want to try everything I can b4 I make a road trip.

  12. #12
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chehalis, Wa
    Posts
    436
    Here is a pic of mine. Can anyone look at theirs and see if it looks the same.


  13. #13
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. jamann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Victoria B.C Canada
    Posts
    5,227
    Sorry I took so long, here is a pic of mine notice the clear tubed section
    It could be some of the issue.if so and you can solder not hard to replace.



    Sent from my iPhone using My fingers
    Mountains cant stop me
    they have tried

  14. #14
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Iowa/ill/KS
    Posts
    351
    make sure the antenna didnt get pinched by the tube base, if the wires inside the antenna are touching anywhere it will do what yours is, only difference is when i saw it the truck only went 20ft.

  15. #15
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chehalis, Wa
    Posts
    436
    Humm. I dont even see or have seen that piece. Where can I find a new antenna wire?

  16. #16
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. JimmyNeutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, Michigan
    Posts
    12,291
    Traxxas offers an extended service plan for electronic components after the 30-day warranty has expired. This plan states that Traxxas will repair electronic components, excluding speed controls, at any time throughout the life of the part, for a flat rate of $15.00 plus $5.00 for shipping and handling. The electronic components covered under this service plan include certain Traxxas transmitters, receivers, and servos.

    Other than through this program, that antenna is not available.
    Whatever it is I just typed... could be wrong.

  17. #17
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. jamann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Victoria B.C Canada
    Posts
    5,227
    They don't sell the antenna .bummer
    I replaced my am one a few times.
    Their service is excellent just sent my new tqi back for repair.3 runs and it quit


    Sent from my iPhone using My fingers
    Mountains cant stop me
    they have tried

  18. #18
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chehalis, Wa
    Posts
    436
    That's a bummer. I really wanted it for this weekend. What if I didn't buy my summit new. I bought mine used off Craigslist, will it still be covered under warranty?

  19. #19
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chehalis, Wa
    Posts
    436
    Well I got my new RX today and just installed It and i have signal now. I've ran it around the house and it works good. I haven't been able to go outside cuz its been raining cats and dogs all day. Anyways. Once I got it all back together I noticed the my front diff lock servo keeps twitching and freeking out. Any ideas why it doing that.

  20. #20
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chehalis, Wa
    Posts
    436
    Ok. Been trying to get this thing stop glitching and and people keep telling me that its not synced all the way. So I try and sync the TX to the RX doing how Traxxas says to but when I do that the TX goes to green and the RX stays blinking red. I can shut the esc off and then turn it back on and It works but it doesn't have much for range and the front shift servo is glitching bad. Can anyone help me.

  21. #21
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. jamann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Victoria B.C Canada
    Posts
    5,227
    First thing I would do is unplug everything from the Rx,except the esc
    Calibrate.everything ok?
    if yes start plugging in one servo at a time until the issue occurs again
    A bad servo has been know to make the evx 2 do some strange things.


    Sent from my iPhone using My fingers
    Mountains cant stop me
    they have tried

  22. #22
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Planet Vegeta
    Posts
    651
    maybe your daughter shifted speeds in a not ordinany fashion
    All I need now is to set a new lap record.

  23. #23
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chehalis, Wa
    Posts
    436
    Quote Originally Posted by jamann View Post
    First thing I would do is unplug everything from the Rx,except the esc
    Calibrate.everything ok?
    if yes start plugging in one servo at a time until the issue occurs again
    A bad servo has been know to make the evx 2 do some strange things.


    Sent from my iPhone using My fingers
    Ok. I got them linked and everything seems to working properly except now I can only go about 150 out and it losses signal. I have to go get closer to get it to move again. Also if it goes behind something it losses the signal till it gets back into sign of sight.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •